Black Stars shift base to Kumasi ahead of Ethiopia clash

Black Stars shift base to Kumasi ahead of Ethiopia clash
Atletico Madrid's Thomas Partey (2-R)

by Graeme Jackson

Monday Jun 05, 2017. 18:00

Ghana’s national team today travelled to Kumasi ahead of their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Ethiopia this weekend.

The Black Stars will battle the Wayla Antelopes in their opening Group E clash, with the meeting for the Baba Yara Stadium in Kumasi on June 11.

Ghana have been training in Accra this past week in preparation for the match, with new coach James Kwesi Appiah keeping a close eye on his players.

The players in his squad were given an off day on Sunday, while those based locally were allowed to join their clubs for domestic league matches.

The Black Stars will up the intensity in their preparations now that they are in the ‘Garden City’, with Appiah expected to trim his provisional squad of 30 players in the coming days.

Ghana will be looking for an eighth successive qualification for the Africa Cup of Nations finals. The last tournament they missed was the 2004 edition in Tunisia.

The other Group E clash sees Sierra Leone host Kenya in Freetown on June 10.

Ghana’s 30-man provisional squad:


Richard Ofori (Wa Allstars), Adam Kwarasey (Brondby, Denmark), Felix Annan (Kotoko), Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars)


Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England)
Lumor Agbenyenu (Munich 1860, Germany), Daniel Darkwah (Aduana Stars, Ghana), John Boye (Sivasspor, Turkey), Rashid Sumalia (Al Gharafa, Qatar), Nicholas Opoku (B.Chelsea, Ghana), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA), Jerry Akaminko ( Eskiserhispor, Turkey), Samuel Sarfo (Liberty, Ghana)


Mohammed Abu (Columbus Crew, USA), Afriyie Acquah (Torino, Italy), Isaac Sackey (Alanyaspor, Turkey), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Ebenezer Ofori (Stuttgart, Germany), Kingsley Sarfo (Sirius, Sweden), Winful Cobbinah (Hearts of Oak), Yaw Yeboah (FC Twente, Holland), Godsway Donyoh (Nordjaelland, Denmark), Andre Ayew (West Ham, England), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium), Thomas Agyepong (NAC Breda, Holland)


Asamoah Gyan (Al Alhi, UAE), Jordan Ayew (Swansea City, England), Majeed Waris (Lorient FC, France), Raphael Dwamena (FC Zurich, Switzerland)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment