2026 WCQ: Lassina Traore headlines Burkina Faso squad

2026 WCQ: Lassina Traore headlines Burkina Faso squad
Lassina Traore of Burkina Faso ©Weam Mostafa/BackpagePix

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Tuesday May 28, 2024. 15:08

Ukraine-based attacker Lassina Traore headlines Burkina Faso’s squad for the upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

The Stallions will be away to Egypt at the Cairo International Stadium on 6 June before hosting Sierra Leone at the Stade du 26 Mars in Bamako, Mali on 10 June.

Burkina Faso coach Brama Traore has called up Pyramids FC midfielder Blate Toure and NBE Club defender Saidou Simpore who both ply their trade in Egypt.

Lassina Traore, who helped Shakhtar Donetsk win the 2023/24 Ukrainian Premier League title, headlines the squad in the absence of captain Bertrand Traore.

Burkina Faso’s full squad:

Goalkeepers: Hervé Koffi (R Charleroi SC), Farid Ouedraogo(AS Vita Club Kinshasa), Kilian Nikiema (ADO Den Haag)

Defenders: Edmond Tapsoba (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Nasser Djiga (Red Star Belgrade), Adama Nagalo (FC Nordsjaelland), Mohamed Ouedraogo (SCR Altach), Steeve Yago (Aris Limassol), Saidou Simporé (NBE Club), Valentin Nouma (FC Saint Eloi Lupopo)

Midfielders: Sacha Bancé (Valenciennes FC), Blati Toure (Pyramids FC), Gustavo Sangari (Quevilly – Rouen Métropole), Cedric Badolo (FC Sheriff Tiraspol), Stephane Aziz Ki (Young Africans FC), Ismahila Ouedraogo (Panserraikos), Regis N’Do (CF Estrela)

Forwards: Hassim Traore (Joué-lès-Tours), Lassina Traore (Shakhtar Donetsk), Mohamed Konate (Akhmat Grozny), Ousseni Bouda (San Jose Earthquakes), Dango Ouattara (AFC Bournemouth), Hassane Bande (HJK Helsinki)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.