Football in Nigeria

Leagues in Nigeria

Professional football in Nigeria is structured as follows:

Tier 1 - Nigerian Premier League
Tier 2 - Nigeria National League (two groups) - Nigeria Professional League
Tier 3 - Nigeria Nationwide League 1 (four groups)
Tier 4 - Nigeria Nationwide League 2

The Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) is the premier division of Nigeria’s Football Federation. It is contested by the 20 top teams in the country.

The league's origins date back to 1990 when a law came into effect to introduce professional football in the country.

It is managed by the League Management Company (LMC), a limited liability company incorporated as a commonwealth of the participating clubs and the Federation to give impetus to the commercial viability, professionalism and enhanced standards of the game.

Although more than 80 per cent of NPFL clubs are state-owned companies, new regulatory requirements make at least 50 per cent equity in these clubs available to private investors.

The NPFL runs a 38 matchday season with four clubs with the lowest points relegated at the end of the season while four clubs are promoted to join the NPFL from the Nigeria National League.

You can find the latest league standings for the NigeriaProfessional Football League below.

League Table

Latest NPFL standings - 2019-20

Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.