SAT 15 OCTOBER 2016, 15:00,


Advantage Sundowns: Brazilians run riot in Atteridgeville

by Staff Reporter

Sat October 15, 17:26

Mamelodi Sundowns have one hand on the 2016 Caf Champions League title following a 3-0 win over Zamalek in the first-leg of the final at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Backed by a capacity 30 000 supporters in the Atteridgville heat, the Brazilians ran circles around the White Knights as focus now turns to the reverse fixture in Alexandria.

Pitso Mosimane's troops dominated from the onset and after a sustained spell of pressure, the hosts hit the front through Anthony Laffor in the 31st minute.

Sundowns captain ,Hlompho Kekana, picked up the ball on the half-line, surging forward before feeding the Liberian international who turned to defenders before firing into the back of the net, to successfully build on his good run of form

The Brazilians doubled their lead nine minutes later through the unlikely source of left-back Tebogo Langerman. The defender's cross-cum-shot flying over Ahmed Elshenawy and into the back of the net from about 35 meters, to the astonishment of 'Jingles' and those packed into the stadium.

Sundowns made it 3-0 a minute after the interval with Percy Tau's shot directed into the back of the Zamalek net by Eslam Gamal Hamed; to send the home crowd in absolute delirium.

Zamalek had their chances to grab a valuable away goal, but Wayne Arendse was well positioned in the 58th minute to clear Aly Hefny's attempt off the line.

At the other end of the park Themba Zwane and Tau had opportunities to further humiliate their visitors, but both failed to find the back of the net. All considered, Sundowns will be delighted with the result, especially considering their 3-0 defeat to Bidvest Wits in the MTN8 final earlier this month.

The second-leg is set to take place at the Borg El Arab Stadium in Alexandria on Sunday, 23 October 2016.

Mamelodi Sundowns (2) 3 (Laffor 31' Langerman 40' Tau 46')

Zamalek (0) 0

Mamelodi Sundowns: Onyango; Langerman, Nthethe, Arendse (Soumahoro 70'), Mbekile - Kekana (T. Zwane 85'), Mabunda - Dolly, Tau, Laffor - Billiat (Modise 65')

Zamalek: Elshenawy (Elrehim 63'); Maroof, Eslam Gamal, Al Gabr, Tawfik - Ohawuchi, Ibrahim Salah, Tarek Hamed - Shikabala (Ramzi 55'), Hefny, Morsy (Mohamed Fathi 76')

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment