Diawara denies South Africa three points

by BackPageTXT

Sat October 08, 22:13

Despite grabbing the lead, South Africa allowed Burkina Faso to equalise through Diawara as they played to a 1-1 draw in their 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier at Stade du 4 Août on Saturday night.

The South Africans found the lead through Dean Furman in the 81st minute in their Group D tie.

Following this draw, both nations are tied at one point on the log table, but they will wait to see the result between Senegal and Cape Verde on the same night.

The match started on a high with the hosts keeping Bafana Bafana under pressure, their efforts were rewarded when Erick Mathoho conceded a penalty having touched the ball in the ninth minute.

Jonathan Pitriopa stepped up to take it and Itumeleng Khune produced a fine save to deny the Stallions.

In the 15th minute, Shakes Mashaba's men received a free kick as Thulani Serero was fouled only to see goalkeeper, Herve Koffi making a fine save to deny Hlompho Kekana from a header.

Despite the hosts keeping Bafana under pressure, Mpho Makola forced a fine save from Koffi with a low shot from a set piece in the 33rd minute.

It was 0-0 at the interval.

Bafana nearly grabbed the lead in the 50th minute when Eleazar Rodgers saw his well executed header going inches wide from a cross down the right.

With nine minutes to go, Paulo Duarte's men failed to deal with corner kicks and the 2010 FIFA World Cup hosts broke the deadlock through Furman as he pounced on a loose ball in the box with a well struck shot.

With three minutes to go, Oupa Manyisa conceded a second penalty, yet Alain Traore saw his effort going horribly over the cross bar.

Exactly in the 90th minute, Diawara netted an equaliser for the hosts as they secured a point at home.

Burkina Faso: (0) 1 (Diawara 90')
South Africa: (0) 1 (Furman 81')

Burkina Faso: Koffi, Kabore (Guira 82'), Kone, Dayo, Yago, Malo, Pitriopa, Bertrand Traore (Diawara 75'), Abdou Traore, Nakoulma, Alain Traore

South Africa: Khune, Mphahlele, Matlaba, Mathoho, Hlatshwayo (c), Kekana (Mahlangu 74'), Makola, Furman, Rodgers, Serero (Mobara 85'), Dolly (Manyisa 65')

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment