All past MTN8 finals

All past MTN8 finals

Saturday’s MTN8 final will be 41st since the concept was introduced
in 1972 not long after the launch of the National Professional Soccer League.

Platinum Stars will attempt to be become the 13th club to
win the competition while Pirates chase their 10th title.

1972: The first ever tournament had only four competitors
and a single final at the Orlando Stadium in which Elias Mokopane scored the
winner for Orlando Pirates in a 3-2 win over Kaizer Chiefs.

1973: Pule ‘Ace’ Ntsoelengoe scored in each leg of the final
as Chiefs won their first trophy with 6-2 aggregate win over PUBS in the
two-legged final

1974: The second leg of the final went to extra time as
Pirates came from behind to win 7-6 on aggregate. Swallows won the first leg
3-1 in Port Elizabeth but Bucs won the return 6-3 at Orlando.

1974 (2): Another top eight tournament was held at the end
of the season with Chiefs beating Pirates in both legs of the final for a
one-sided 6-2 aggregate triumph.

1975: The tournament was expanded to 16 teams and held at
the end of the season with Swallows winning 3-2 and 2-0 in the final, Andries
Maseko scoring a double in the second leg of the final.

1976: The numbers were increased again to 32 teams; Chiefs
won back the title by beating AmaZulu 3-1 and 5-1 in the two legs of the final
at KwaMashu and KwaThema. Ntsoelengoe got a cup final hat trick in the second

1978: Pirates scored a narrow 5-4 aggregate triumph over
Benoni in the final.

1979: Frederick ‘Congo’ Malebane scored in both legs of the
finals as Swallows beat Pirates 4-2 on aggregate.

1980: A goal in extra time of the second leg of the final at
the Orlando Stadium from Meshack Mokwebo gave Witbank Aces their first major
trophy success as they edged Pirates 2-1 on aggregate.

1981: A one-sided win for Chiefs as evergreen Ntsoelengoe
scored twice in each leg of the final for Chiefs who smothered Dynamos 7-1 over
the two games.

1982: For a second successive year, Chiefs won 7-1 on
aggregate in the final, this time over Swallows. Leonard ‘ Wagga Wagga’ Likoebe
scored a hat trick in the second leg.

1983: For the first time, one of the legs of the final ended
goalless. But the second match at Orlando one week later saw Kagiso Mogale and
Henry ‘Mtofi’ Khumalo score for Pirates to beat Highlands Park 2-0.

1984: Swallows beat Wits 2-1 in the first leg but the
Students rebounded in the return match at Ellis Park with Rodney Bush getting
the decisive goal as Wits won 4-3 on aggregate. Two years later Bush was player
coach of Swallows.

1985: Chiefs edge Arcadia 3-2 on aggregate with help from a
Nelson ‘Teenage’ Dladla penalty and a Trevor Klein own goal.

1986: There were three own goals in the first leg of the
final as Arcadia beat Wits 3-1 in Durban. The second leg ended 1-1.

1987: Marks Maponyane scored a hat trick as Chiefs beat
Rangers 5-1 on aggregate over the two legs of the final.

1988: The final was changed to a single game but ended in a
draw between Arcadia and Mamelodi Sundowns. The Brazilians then won the replay
at the Rand Stadium with Lovemore Chafunya scoring the only goal.

1989: Back to two legs the format of the final went and
produced a 2-1 success for Chiefs over Wits.

1990: Sundowns won 5-0 on aggregate by beating Wits 2-0 in
Atteridgeville and 3-0 at Soccer City. Bennett Masinga (2), Chafunya, Andries
Chitja and Zane Moosa were the scorers.

1991: Phil Masinga scored a cup final hat trick but still
ended on the losing side as Chiefs beat Jomo Cosmos 4-3 in the final at Soccer
City, thanks to an 88th minute winner from Fani Madida.

1992: Another late winner in the final as Donald Khuse’s
goal gave Chiefs a 1-0 win over Sundowns at Soccer City.

1993: Pirates ended a long trophy drought with a
come-from-behind 3-1 win over Witbank Aces in the final.

1994: The final went into extra time before delivering a
winner with Zimbabwe import Mike Marina scoring to give Chiefs a narrow 3-2
triumph over Sundowns.

1995: Teenager Bradley Carnell scored twice as Wits upset
Chiefs in the final.

1996: A replay was needed after Pirates and QwaQwa Stars
drew 1-1 in Durban. The two clubs then went to Bloemfontein were Pirates won
3-0, crowned by a great Helman Mkhalele goal.

2000: After a four-year hiatus, the competition is back and
a Thabo Mngomeni penalty in extra time gives Pirates a 2-1 win over Ajax Cape

2001: It took 14 penalties before Chiefs edged Sundowns 7-6
on kicks following a 2-2 draw in the final. The decisive miss came from Michael

2002: Santos scored twice in the first half to record an
easy win over Sundowns at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace.

2003: Cosmos win 3-2 over Swallows, despite the Birds taking
the lead after just 48 seconds through George Hummel. Gavin Hunt coaches
Swallows but Lovers Mohlala scores in extra time to ensure Jomo Sono goes home
with the champagne.

2004: SuperSport United begin a run of three successive
final appearances and win in Durban as Phil Evans’ penalty gives them a 1-0
triumph over Chiefs.

2005: Zambian Rotson Kilambe got the only goal of the finals
as Bloemfontein Celtic beat SuperSport 1-0 in Potchefstroom. He was to do the
same again the next year but in different colours.

2006: SuperSport’s last Top Eight final outing saw them
beaten by a Kilambe goal again, this time for Chiefs in Durban.

2007: Brent Carelse scored the only goal of the game as
Sundowns beat Pirates 1-0 in Durban.

2008: No goals after two hours of football forced the trophy
to be decided on penalties. Chiefs win 4-3 on kicks with Reneilwe Letsholonyane
converting the decisive kick.

2009: A record breaking 6-0 triumph for Lamontville Golden
Arrows as everything went right on the night at the Orlando Stadium against
Ajax Cape Town.

2010: Pirates won 4-2 on penalties at the Moses Mabhida
Stadium after a 1-1 draw with Moroka Swallows.

2011: The Buccaneers retain their trophy as Oupa Manyisa
scores after 107 minutes to beat Chiefs at Soccer City.

2012: Moroka Swallows defeated SuperSport United 2-1 in the
decider, coming back from a goal down.


Latest News

« back