Congo U-20 aim to end 8-year drought

Congo U-20 aim to end 8-year drought
Congo's international midfielder Moise Nkounkou/Backpagepix

by Stephane DeSaintsalvy

Friday May 09, 2014. 09:44

The Congo U-20 national team is hosting Bénin on Sunday in Pointe-Noire, in the first leg of their African Championship Senegal 2015 qualifier.

African champions of the category in 2007 on their home ground, the young Red Devils have since failed to make it to the finals.

Eliminated by Cameroon ahead of the 2009 and 2011 editions, the Congolese suffered the same fate at the same stage two years ago against South Africa.

Paolo Berrettini’s men qualified over Niger in the first round in a penalty shoot-out following a tight double encounter, and will have no choice but to seal a positive result at home against the Squirrels before heading to Cotonou for a tricky return leg two weeks later.

And to achieve their objective and reach the third and final round of those qualifiers, the Italian has called-up 23 players including talented midfielders Moïse Nkounkou (AC Léopards) and Hardy Binguila (Diables Noirs), as well as the “Fauves du Niari” striker Khader Bidimbou.

The winner will battle Sudan or Egypt in the next round for a spot at Senegal 2015.


1-Junior Amour Loussoukou (ACNFF)
2-Robelvy Bilongo Diantékela (Ajax d'Ouenzé)
3-Raphaël Ébara (ACNFF)
4- Faria Ondongo (Étoile du Congo)
5- Cosme Andrely Antoni Mavoungou (ACNFF)
6-Grâce Miguel Itoua Mamic (FC Kondzo)
7- Karl Ekaya (Diables Noirs)
8- Bersyl Obassi Ngatsongo (Diables Noirs)
9-Fred Duval Ngoma (ASP)
10- Jean Rogis Okoumou Opimbat (ACNFF)
11- Francis Vonce Bogartt Okombi (ACNFF)
12- Richy Bourgena Ondongo (FC Kondzo)
13- Charvely Carim Steven Mabiala (CARA)
14- Justalain Moïse Nkounkou (AC Léopards de Dolisie)
15- Hardy Alain Samarange Binguila (Diables Noirs)
16- Constantin Christ Olsen Bakaki (FC Kondzo)
17- Mavis Tchibota (Maccabi-Tel Aviv)
18- Deldy Muriel Goyi (Diables Noirs)
19- Grâce Guyovane Ntota (FC Bilombé)
20- Sylvère Ngavoula Mboussi (Patronage Sainte-Anne)
21- Pavhel Ndzila (Étoile du Congo)
22- Khader Georges Bidimbou (AC Léopards de Dolisie)
23-Exaucé Ngassaki Ndongo (CESD la Djiri)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment