Bucs held by Tuks

Bucs held by Tuks
Thabo Mnyamane of University Pretoria challenged by Ntshikelelo Nyauza and Rooi Mahamutsa of Orlando Pirates during the Absa Premiership 2014/15 match between University of Pretoria and Orlando Pirates at Tuks Stadium, Pretoria on the 26 November 2014

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Nov 26, 2014. 22:12

Orlando Pirates were held to a goalless draw by a stubborn University of Pretoria in an Absa Premiership match at Tuks Stadium on Wednesday.

Tuks’ goalkeeper Washington Arubi was the busier of the two goalkeepers, and was forced into a save as early as the second minute when Lennox Bacela’s cross found Issa Sarr, and his header was dealt with by Arubi.

Another Pirates chance arrived in the 10th minute when Daine Klate beat the offside trap and managed to find Bacela with a pin-point pass in the box, but the lanky striker missed an open net.

The hosts defended too deep for the better part of the first half and allowed the Buccaneers to enjoy possession. However, Pirates failed to use it to their advantage.

Towards the interval, the visitors dominated the proceedings, whilst Sammy Troughton’s side could not trouble Brighton Mhlongo, as Ayanda Gcaba and Rooi Mahamutsa were able to bottle up Atusaye Nyondo and Thabo Mnyamane.

Both sides went to the tunnel with the score remaining at 0-0 but the hosts were the first to attack when a beautiful ball found Myamane. He managed to beat the defence and, with only Mhlongo to beat, the keeper made a brilliant save from the striker’s feet and conceded a corner.

Thabo Rakhale terrorised Sammy Troughton’s men down the right flank but his crosses were not converted by the frontmen. In the 72nd minute, Lennox Bacela missed a chance with only Arubi to beat.

Vladimir Vermezovic’s men did everything they could to destabilise Tuks, but they just couldn’t convert their chances and that should be a concern for the Serbian coach.

Orlando Pirates 0

Uninverisity of Pretoria 0

Pirates: Mhlongo, Gcaba, Mahamutsa, Phungwayo, Nyauza, Klate (Makola 68’), Rakhale (Gabuza 78’), Manyisa, Sarr, Myeni, Bacela (Erasmus 68’)

Tuks: Arubi, Jaure, Ketjijere, Shoyisa, Kekana, Ntombayithethi, Ngubane, Matsi, Nyondo (Zwane 86’), Mosadi (90+1’), Mnyamane

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment