Bafana’s AFCON squad in numbers

Bafana’s AFCON squad in numbers
South African players

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Jan 01, 2015. 12:29

Here is a closer statistical look at coach Shakes Mashaba’s 23-man Bafana Bafana squad for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

Statistics (including players’ ages) correct as of 1 January 2015.

4 – The three goalkeepers – Darren Keet, Brilliant Khuzwayo and Jackson Mabokgwane – have just four caps between them. Mabokgwane is the only uncapped player in the squad.

5 – The squad features just five overseas-based players: Darren Keet, Anele Ngcongca, Andile Jali, Dean Furman and Tokelo Rantie. Five is also the number of Kaizer Chiefs players present in the squad (Brilliant Khuzwayo, Erick Mathoho, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Mandla Masango and Bernard Parker), making them the best represented club.

11 – The number of players in the squad who have less than 10 caps each.

18 – The current age of Rivaldo Coetzee, the youngest member of the squad.

23 – The number of goals scored by Bernard Parker in his Bafana Bafana career. He is the highest scorer in the squad and just eight goals away from Benni McCarthy’s all-time record of 31.

25.35 – The average age of the squad.

32 – The current age of Reneilwe Letsholonyane, the oldest player in the squad. He is the only player over the age of 30.

68 – The number of caps racked up by Bernard Parker in his Bafana Bafana career. He is the most experienced player in the squad.

342 – The cumulative number of caps in the squad, at an average of 14.87 per player. The trio of Anele Ngcongca, Reneilwe Letsholonyane and Bernard Parker account for 157 of the 342 caps, or 47.45 percent of the total appearances in the squad.

Bafana’s AFCON squad (club/age/caps in parenthesis)

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Kortrijk, Belgium/25/3), Brilliant Khuzwayo (Kaizer Chiefs/24/1), Jackson Mabokgwane (Black Aces/26/0).

Defenders: Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town/18/3), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits/25/10), Erick Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs/24/15), Thabo Matlaba (Orlando Pirates/27/13), Anele Ngcongca (Genk, Belgium/27/39), Siyabonga Nhlapo (Bidvest Wits/26/3), Patrick Phungwayo (Orlando Pirates/26/1).

Midfielders: Dean Furman (Doncaster Rovers, England/26/24), Andile Jali (Oostende, Belgium/24/21), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs/32/50), Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates/26/18), Mandla Masango (Kaizer Chiefs/25/7), Thuso Phala (SuperSport United/28/13), Thamsanqa Sangweni (Chippa United/25/2), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits/25/8), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns/25/5), Bongani Zungu (Mamelodi Sundowns/22/10).

Strikers: Bongani Ndulula (AmaZulu/25/5), Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs/28/68), Tokelo Rantie (Bournemouth, England/24/23).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment