Mathoho, Mabokgwane in for Bafana

Mathoho, Mabokgwane in for Bafana
Erick Mathoho

by Bertin Basson

Friday Jan 23, 2015. 08:40

Bafana Bafana head coach Shakes Mashaba has made two changes to the starting 11 for their 2015 African Cup of Nations clash with Senegal on Friday.

The Group C encounter at the Stade de Mongomo kicks-off at 21h00 CAT.

Jackson Mabokgwane has been named between the sticks in place of Darren Keet who drops to the bench following a below average performance against Algeria which Bafana Bafana lost 3-1.

The other change comes in defence with Erick Mathoho returning from suspension just in time to replace the injured Rivaldo Coetzee who had to be stretchered off in the defeat to the Fennec Foxes on Monday.

Mathoho will partner Thulani Hlatshwayo with Anele Ngcongca and Thabo Matlaba filling in at right-back and left-back respectively.

The midfield remains unchanged with Dean Furman, Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa and Thuso Phala, who scored South Africa’s only goal in the opening match, given the nod.

Furman will once again captain the side in what is a must-win game for South Africa.

Tokelo Rantie and Sibusiso Vilakazi also retain their places upfront.

SA starting 11: 22-Jackson Mabokgwane (GK), 6-Anele Ngcongca, 11-Thabo Matlaba, 14-Thulani Hlatshwayo, 3-Eric Mathoho, 15-Dean Furman (C), 5-Andile Jali, 20-Oupa Manyisa, 18-Thuso Phala, 10-Sibusiso Vilakazi, 23-Tokelo Rantie

Subs: 16-Darren Keet (GK), 1-Brilliant Khuzwayo (GK), 21-Ayanda Gcaba, 13-Thamsanqa Sangweni, 19-Themba Zwane, 12-Reneilwe Letsholonyane, 7-Mandla Masango, 8-Bongani Zungu, 17-Bernard Parker, 4-Siyabonga Nhlapho, 9-Bongani Ndulula

Injured: 2-Rivaldo Coetzee

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment