Nigeria name final AYC squad

Nigeria name final AYC squad
Taiwo Awoniyi leads U23 attack in Zambia today

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Feb 26, 2015. 14:20

Flying Eagles coach Manu Garba has released a list of 21 players who will represent Nigeria at the 19th African Youth Championship in Senegal.

Skipper Musa Muhammed, who led the U-17 squad who won for Nigeria a record fourth FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates in 2013, will lead the pack, supported by fellow U17 world champions Akinjide Idowu, Izuchukwu Omego, Abdullahi Alfa, Dele Alampasu, Chidera Ezeh and Taiwo Awoniyi.

Belgium-based defender Wilfred Ndidi was not released by his club Genk.

Nigeria play host Senegal, Congo-Brazzaville and Cote d’Ivoire in Group A of the tournament scheduled for 8th – 22nd March in the Senegalese cities of Dakar and M’Bour.

Ghana, Mali, South Africa and Zambia play in Group B.

All four semifinalists will fly Africa’s flag at the FIFA U20 World Cup in New Zealand scheduled for 30th May – 20th June.

 Flying Eagles final AYC squad:

Goalkeepers: Joshua Enaholo, Sunday Alampasu, Olorunleke Ojo

Defenders: Musa Muhamed, Zaharadeen Bello, Izu Omego, Mustapha Abdullahi, Samuel Okon, Abdulganiyu Saheed

Midfielders:Ifeanyi Matthew, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Akinjide Idowu, Obinna Nwobodo, Bernard Bulbwa, Abdullahi Alfa

Strikers: Taiwo Awoniyi, Christian Pyagbara, Abdullahi Ibrahim Alhassan ‘Muazam’, Usman Saleh, Chidera Ezeh, Wasiu Jimoh 

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment