Khune starts, Hlatshwayo to captain Bafana vs Swaziland

Khune starts, Hlatshwayo to captain Bafana vs Swaziland
Bafana Bafana defender Thulani Hlatshwayo

by Bertin Basson

Wednesday Mar 25, 2015. 12:56

Bidvest Wits defender Thulani Hlatshwayo will captain Bafana Bafana in their international friendly match against Swaziland at the Somhlolo Stadium in Mbabane this evening. Kick-off at 19h00.

Itumeleng Khune will start between the sticks for the first time since Shakes Mashaba took charge of the South African National side, while there are no fewer than four debutants included in the starting XI.

Defenders Thapelo Morena (Bloemfontein Celtic) and Daniel Cardoso (Free State Stars), midfielder Cole Alexander (Polokwane City) and striker Thabo Mnyamane (AmaTuks) will all be involved from the onset, while Lebogang Phiri (Brondby FC) and Siphelele Ntshangase (Black Leopards) will have an opportunity to make their debut off the bench.

European based Kamohelo Mokotjo,Thulani Serero and Ayanda Patosi will line-up alongside Alexander in midfield, while former NWU-Pukke striker Mnymane will be joined in attack by Orlando Pirates' Lehlohonolo Majoro.

“I am happy with the line-up we have put up. I have said before that we will not underestimate Swaziland. That is why we have put up a side I believe is very strong enough to give the opposition a challenge," head coach Mashaba is quoted as saying in a statement released by SAFA.

“I have also said we would like to give as many players a chance so we can see them up close and personal because we are now nearing the end of our building phase. It would be interesting to see how the combinations that we have put up will fare, but I am confident that they will do well. Also, it is important that we go into the Nigeria match with a morale-boosting win,” said Mashaba.

Bafana Bafana welcome Nigeria in an international friendly at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit on Sunday afternoon.

Bafana Bafana starting XI: Itumeleng Khune, Thapelo Morena, Thabo Matlaba, Thulani Hlatshwayo (c), Daniel Cardoso, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Cole Alexander, Thulani Serero, Ayanda Patosi, Lehlohonolo Majoro, Thabo Mnyamane

Subs: Jackson Mabokgwane (GK), Siyabonga Nhlapho, Sibusiso Khumalo, Rivaldo Coetzee, Andile Jali, Jabulani Shongwe, Mandla Masango, Tokelo Rantie, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Bongani Zungu, Siphelele Ntshangase, Lebogang Phiri

Not considered for match day: Brilliant Khuzwayo (GK), Thuso Phala, Oupa Manyisa

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.