Shilongo keeps Namibia alive

Shilongo keeps Namibia alive
Ronald Ketjijere of Namibia

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday May 19, 2015. 21:28

A brace from Benson Shilongo secured a 2-0 win for Namibia over Mauritius at the Moruleng Stadium in Rustenburg on Tuesday evening.

The win moves Ricardo Manetti's men into second spot in Group A.

Mauritius ended the men with 10 men. Bruno Ravina saw red or the islanders following second bookable offence five minutes after the hour.

The win for Namibia keeps them in the tournament, knowing victory over Zimbabwe in their final group game will see them face Zambia in the quarterfinals for a place in the final four.

Namibia, who were frustrated by the Seychelles on the weekend, got off to the perfect start.

A quick break down the right flank left the Brave Warriors with a two v one situation. Itamunua Keimuine laying the ball on a silver platter for Shilongo who made no mistake from close range with four minutes on the clock.

Namibia had a golden chance to double their advantage 10 minutes later, but Willem Mwedihaga sent his header over Kevin Jean-Louis's crossbar from point-blank range.

Keimuine then had an opportunity to turn scorer five minutes before the break after he broke free, but Jean-Louis was up to the task to keep Les Dodos within touching distance heading into interval.

Namibia finally added to their scoreline in the 65th minute after Ravina was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the area. A contentious decision that infuriated Mauritius head coach Didier Six who was subsequently sent to the stands.

As he did for Gaborone United in the Mascom Top 8 final last month, Shilongo duly converted the spot-kick to all but seal the points for the 1997 and 1999 runners-up.

It could have been a much heavier defeat for Mauritius, but Namibia were guilty of missing a flurry of chances towards the end of the match.

Namibia starting XI: Vries; Mwedihaga, Katjiukua, Gebhardt, Haoseb, Ketjijere, Gome, Shitembi, Hotto, Shilongo, Keimuine

Mauritius starting XI: Jean-Louis; Dorza, Ravina, Buckland, Veeranah, Pithia, Eduoard, Francis, Calambe, Sophie

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.