Pirates quartet nominated for CAF award

Pirates quartet nominated for CAF award
Oupa Manyisa of Orlando Pirates

by Bertin Basson

Monday Oct 12, 2015. 10:20

Orlando Pirates quartet Felipe Ovono, Thamsanqa Gabuza, Oupa Manyisa and Kermit Erasmus have been nominated among 24 players for CAF's Player of the Year - based in Africa accolade.

The Buccaneers foursome have played a pivotal part in Pirates reaching the final of the 2015 CAF Confederation Cup where they will meet Etoile du Sahel for the top prize.

Gabuza, Erasmus and Manyisa have scored 14 goals between them while Ovono has filled in for the injured Brighton Mhlongo with great aplomb.

Etoile striker Baghdad Bounedjah, who has scored seven goals in the competition, is one of two players nominated from the Tunisia outfit - the other being Ahmed Akaïchi.

The list also includes four players from CAF Champions League finalists TP Mazembe.

The 24 nominees for the award:

Abdeladim Khadrouf (Moghreb Tebouan)

Abdelmalek Ziaya (ES Setif)

Ahmed Akaichi (Etoile du Sahel)

Andiramahitsinoro Carolus (USMA)

Baghdad Bounedjah (Etoile du Sahel)

Bakri el Madina (El Merriekh)

Bassem Morsi (Zamalek)

Boris Moubhio (AC Leopards)

Djigui Diarra (Stade Malien)

Felipe Ovono (Orlando Pirates)

Guelassiognon Gbohouo (TP Mazembe)

Hazem Emam (Zamalek)

Hoicine Ragued (Esperance)

Kermit Erasmus (Orlando Pirates)

Malick Evouna (Al-Ahly)

Mbwana Aly Samatta (TP Mazembe)

Mohamed Koffi (Zamalek)

Mohamed Meftah (USMA)

Moudather el Tahir (Al Hilal)

Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates)

Robert Kidiaba (TP Mazembe)

Roger Assale (TP Mazembe)

Thamsanqa Gabuza (Orlando Pirates)

Zein Edin Farahat (USMA)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment