Siasia picks uncapped Adi, Aminu for Egypt crackers

Siasia picks uncapped Adi, Aminu for Egypt crackers
Fanendo Adi

by Samm Audu

Thursday Mar 03, 2016. 17:42

Nigeria caretaker coach Samson Siasia has picked uncapped Fanendo Adi, Umar Aminu and Stanley Amuzie, while Victor Moses and Aaron Samuel have been recalled for this month’s AFCON qualifiers against Egypt.

The 42-man squad has 22 players from the domestic league with 20 pros from abroad.

Adi, 25, fired 19 goals last season for Portland Timbers to clinch a first-ever MLS championship, while Aminu has been in superlative form for Turkish Super League club Osmanlispor and Portugal-based defender Amuzie has bounced back after a long-term knee injury he suffered early last year on duty with the Nigeria U23s.

Nigeria take on Egypt on March 25 in Kaduna with the return leg in Alexandria four days later.

Chelsea loanee Victor Moses is staging a return to the Super Eagles after more than a year away.

Striker Aaron Samuel, who recently joined Russian club CSKA Moscow on loan from China, has also been recalled.

The squad have several players who have worked with Siasia in the U23 team –skipper Azubuike Okechukwu, Usman Mohammed, Segun Oduduwa, Sincere Seth, Oghenekaro Etebo, Emmanuel Daniel and Stanley Dimgba.

Otherwise, Siasia has invited the core of the players Sunday Oliseh has worked with during his eight-month stint.

The players include goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, Efe Ambrose, Shehu Abdullahi, Mikel Obi, Ahmed Musa and Moses Simon.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers/England), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United/South Africa), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars), Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers), Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba)

Defenders: Ambrose Efe (Celtic/Scotland), Shehu Abdullahi (Uniao da Madeira/Portugal), Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco/France), Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense/Portugal), Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor/Turkey), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa/Turkey) Orji Kalu (Enugu Rangers), Chibuzor Okonkwo (FC IfeanyiUbah), Austin Obaroakpo (Abia Warriors), Oke Ogogatewho (Warri Wolves), Sincere Seth (Supreme Court FC), Segun Oduduwa (Nath Boys), Chima Akas (Akwa United), Chris Madaki (Kano Pillars), Etim Matthew (Enugu Rangers)

Midfielders: Onazi Ogenyi (Lazio/Italy), Mikel Obi (Chelsea/England), Azubuike Okechukwu (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Ifeanyi Mathew (Kano Pillars), Usman Mohammed (Uniao da Madeira/Portugal), Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves), Stanley Dimgba (Sunshine Stars), Yau Hassan (FC Taraba)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow/Russia), Moses Simon (Gent/Belgium), Victor Moses (West Ham/England), Odion Ighalo (Watford/England), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal/England), Umar Aminu (Osmalispor/Turkey), Fenando Adi (Portland Timbers/USA), Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba), Prince Aggreh (Kano Pillars), Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah), Chikatara Chisom (Wydad Casabalanca/Morocco) and Godwin Obaje (Wikki Tourists), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City/England)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment