Liberia name 25-man squad for Djibouti double header

Liberia name 25-man squad for Djibouti double header
Anthony Laffor of Liberia

by BackPageTXT

Tuesday Mar 15, 2016. 15:44

Liberia head coach James Debbah has named a 25-man squad ahead of their double header with Djibouti in Group A of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The list includes six locals and 19 foreign-based players, with midfield duo Theo Weeks and Dulee Johnson making their big return to the Lone Star.

Weeks last appeared for his national team in a 2-0 defeat to Senegal in June 2013, while Johnson has not represented Liberia since being axed from the squad by late coach Bertalan Bicskei ahead of a 2012 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Zimbabwe in September 2010.

However, centre-back Patrick Gerhardt, who has been a regular under James Debbah, has been left out for the back-to-back clashes.

Lying third of Group A on three points, after bouncing back from a 2-1 loss to Togo with a 1-0 victory over Tunisia, the Lone Star will battle Djibouti away from home on 24 March before hosting their opponents in Monrovia five days later.




  1. Tommy Songo (LISCR, Liberia)
  2. Samson Giddings (FC Fassell, Liberia)
  3. James Gally (Watanga FC, Liberia)


  1. Solomon Grimes (Nea Salamis Famagusta, Cyprus)
  2. Trokon Zeon (LPRC Oilers, Liberia)
  3. Gizzie Dorbor (Hapoel Afula, Israel)
  4. Hilton Varney (Barrack Young Controllers, Liberia)
  5. Teah Dennis (Al-Ahli, Jordan)
  6. Dirkir Glay (Persiba Balikpapan, Indonesia)
  7. Omega Roberts (FK Donji Srem Pecinci, Serbia)
  8. Alvin Macconough (Barrack Young Controllers, Liberia)


  1. Alsény Keita (Jeanne d’Arc de Drancy, France)
  2. Dulee Johnson (Molde FK, Norway)
  3. Anthony Laffor (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)
  4. Theo Weeks (Ermis Aradippou, Cyprus)
  5. Dioh Williams (Gefle IF, Sweden)
  6. Zah Kranga (FELDA United, Malaysia)
  7. Tonia Tisdell (Karsiyaka / Karabükspor, Turkey)
  8. Kpah Sherman (Santos FC Cape Town, South Africa)
  9. Melvin George (Hantharwady United FC, Myanmar)
  10. Marcus Macauley (Al Ahli, Jordan)


  1. William Jebor (SD Ponferradina, Spain)
  2. Sam Johnson (Djurgårdens, Sweden)
  3. Patrick Wleh (Selangor FA, Malaysia)
  4. Sekou Conneh (Bethlehem Steel FC, USA)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.