A late goal saves Cosmos against Ajax

A late goal saves Cosmos against Ajax
Thabang Monare of Jomo Cosmos battles for the ball with Bantu Mzwakali of Ajax Cape Town during the Absa Premiership 2015/16 football match between Ajax Cape Town and Jomo Cosmos at Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town on 4 May 2016 ©Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

by BackPageTXT

Wednesday May 04, 2016. 21:28

A late goal by Tebogo Makobela earned Jomo Cosmos a 2-2 draw with Ajax Cape Town in an Absa Premiership clash played at the Cape Town Stadium on Wednesday night.

The draw left the Urban Warriors placed tenth on the Absa Premiership standings, while Ezenkosi also remained 14th on the league log.

Cosmos goalkeeper Sherwin Naicker was called into action just two minutes into the game pushing away Ajax winger Franklin Cale's corner-kick.

At the other end, Linda Mntambo put Ezenkosi into the lead with a good header to silence the Urban Warriors' fans thirteen minutes into the game.

In the 26th minute, Cosmos midfielder Tebogo Makobela tried to grab the visitors' second goal, but Ajax goalkeeper Anssi Jaakkola denied him.

Ajax midfielder Erwin Isaacs' goal-bound effort was timely blocked by the Cosmos defenders eleven minutes before half-time.

Just four minutes into the half, Nathan Paulse set-up Prince Nxumalo and the latter fired past Naicker to restore parity for the Urban Warriors.

The visitors nearly restored their lead in the 64th minute when Thabang Monare's cross was headed inches wide of the target by Mntambo.

New Bafana Bafana international Nxumalo's header missed the target with 15 minutes left on the clock as the home side searched for the winner.

The striker did find the back of the net in the 85th minute when he scored with a right-footed finish with Abbubaker Mobara grabbing an assist.

Cosmos midfielder Tebogo Makobela had other ideas as he made it 2-2 with a decent header and the league game ended in a draw.

Ajax (0) 2 (Nxumalo 49', 85')
Cosmos (1) 2 (Mntambo 13', Makobela 90')

Ajax: Jaakkola, Mabaso (Mobara 78'), Lartey, Coetzee, Lebusa, Graham, Isaacs (Losper 45'), Abondo, Cale, Mzwakali (Paulse 45'), Nxumalo.

Cosmos: Naicker, Nsabiyumva, Jampies, Zulu, Machupu (Mukamba 79'), Monare, Mntambo, Kumalo, Makobela, Mngomezulu, M. Sono (Madonsela 79').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment