Zimbabwe coach Kalisto Pasuwa names AFCON and COSAFA squads

Zimbabwe coach Kalisto Pasuwa names AFCON and COSAFA squads
Willard Katsande of Zimbabwe

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Wednesday May 25, 2016. 12:06

Kalisto Pasuwa has included Orlando Pirates striker Tendai Ndoro for their upcoming 2017 CAF Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Malawi.

According to the News Day website in Zimbabwe, the manager has also added Mamelodi Sundowns duo of Khama Billiat and Cuthbert Malajila,as well as Kaizer Chiefs' Willard Katsande.

The Warriors are preparing to meet the Flames on home soil on the 5th of June.

Pasuwa has also revealed his side to represent the Southern African nation at the 2016 COSAFA Castle Cup in Namibia.

It is reported that the Zimbabweans will first meet the Cranes of Uganda in an international friendly next Tuesday before meeting Ernest Mtawali's men.

Speaking after the announcement, Pasuwa said Uganda are a strong side. He also warned his charges against falling at the final hurdle; in reference to their AFCON qualifying campaign.

“Uganda are a very strong team, they are ranked above us and they will give us a good practice match,” Pasuwa said.

“It’s one area we need to knock sense into the players to be serious because we have a history of falling at the last hurdle.”

The Zimbabweans currently lead Group L with eight points and can book a spot in Gabon should they overcome the Malawians.


2017 Afcon qualifier squad:

Goalkeepers: Tatenda Mukuruva, Bernard Donovan, Tapiwa Chilenga

Defenders: Costa Nhamoinesu, Lawrence Mhlanga, Hardlife Zvirekwi, Bruce Kangwa, Onismo Bhasera, Elisha Muroiwa, Teenage Hadebe, Blessing Moyo

Midfielders: Willard Katsande, Marvellous Nakamba, Danny Phiri, Kuda Mahachi, Marshall Mudehwe, Farai Madhanhanga, Tafadzwa Kutinyu, Andre Gwaze

Strikers: Knowledge Musona, Nyasha Mushekwi, Evans Rusike, Mathew Rusike, Khama Billiat, Cuthbert Malajila, Tendai Ndoro.

Cosafa squad:

Goalkeepers: Tatenda Mukuruva, Bernard Donovan, Nelson Chadya

Defenders: Hardlife Zvirekwi, Blessing Moyo, Bruce Kangwa, Ronald Pfumbidzai, Lawrence Mhlanga, Teenage Hadebe, Elisha Muroiwa, William Sitima

Midfielders: Marshall Mudehwe, Danny Phiri, Nqobizitha Masuku, Farai Madhanhanga, Raphael Manuvire, King Nadolo, Talent Chawapiwa, Hillary Bakacheza, Tafadzwa Kutinyu,

Strikers: Mitchell Katsvairo, William Manondo, Walter Musona, Charlton Shumba, Obadiah Tarumbwa.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.