Seychelles taken apart by Swaziland

Seychelles taken apart by Swaziland
Benoit Marie of Seychelles (6) challenges Felix Badenhorst of Swaziland during the 2016 Cosafa Cup match between Swaziland and Seychelles at Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek Namibia on 13 June, 2016 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by BackPageTXT

Monday Jun 13, 2016. 20:26

The Seychelles were taken apart by Swaziland after suffering a 4-0 defeat in their 2016 Cosafa Cup, Group A match at the Sam Nujoma Stadium on Monday.

A first half brace from Felix Badenhorst and a goal each from Njubulo Ndlovo and Wonder Nhleko handed Swaziland their first win of the tournament after drawing their opening game 2-2 with Zimbabwe.

Swaziland took control early on and opened the scoring in the 14th minute after Badenhorst broke behind the defence and made no mistake with just the keeper to beat, 1-0.

Badenhorst had a second goal disallowed in the 29th minute due to off-sides, but was not denied five minutes later after tapping home from close range following swift passing movement from Swaziland, 2-0.

Seychelles tried to find their way back into the game, but could not pull a goal back before the break.

Seychelles came out strong in the second half and almost scored in the 56th minute, but a fine save from Sandile Ginndiza denied Gervais Waye-Hive from a 22-yard free-kick.

In the 68th minute Swaziland made certain of the victory when a long range thunderbolt from Njubulo Ndlovo found the corner of the net, 3-0.

The icing on the cake for Swaziland was their fourth goal in the dying seconds of the match courtesy of a strike from Wonder Nhleko, 4-0.

The win sees Swaziland up to four points from two matches while this is Seychelles second loss after their opening Group A defeat to Madagascar.

Swaziland are next in action on Wednesday against Madagascar while Seychelles take on Zimbabwe on the same day.

Swaziland (2) 4 (Badenhorst 14’ + 34’, Ndlovu 68’, Nhleko 90’)
Seychelles (0) 0

Seychelles: Jose Vincent Euphrasie, Yanick Monoo, Nelson Laurence (Andrew Onezia 46’), Jones Joubert, Benoit Marie (Keith Coralie 66’), Gervais Waye-Hive, Achille Henriette (Bertin Basil 82’), Collin Stephane Esther, Carl Hoprich, Collin Bibi, Tamboo Elijah.

Swaziland: Sandile Ginndiza, Sifiso Mabila, Sikhumbuzo Ntimane, Felix Badenhorst, Sabelo Ndzinisa (Muzi Dlamini 78’) , Mcolisi Lukhele, Machawe Dlamini, Njubulo Ndlovo (Sibonginkosi Gamendze 76’), Tony Tsabedze (Banele Sikhondze 49’), Phumlane Dlamini, Wonder Nhleko.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.