PSL announces 2016/17 Absa Premiership fixtures

PSL announces 2016/17 Absa Premiership fixtures
Players lift trophy as Sundowns crowned Absa Premiership Champions during the 2015/16 Absa Premiership football match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Platinum Stars at Lucas Moripe Stadium, Pretoria on 21 May 2016 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Monday Aug 01, 2016. 12:25

The South African Premier Soccer League has announced the 2016/17 Absa Premiership fixtures with the league starting on Tuesday, 23 August.

The league issued the opening round of fixtures on Monday morning and some of the matches will be staged on Wednesday, 24 August.

14 of the 16 teams will be in action, but defending champions - Mamelodi Sundowns - will not play in the league until September 14 when they face Maritzburg United as they have CAF Champions League commitments.

It is also announced that all fixtures on the opening night, Tuesday and Wednesday will kick-off at 19h30; four matches are scheduled for Tuesday while three will be played on Wednesday night.

The Carling Black Cup champions, Kaizer Chiefs, will start their campaign against lasts season's runners-up Bidvest Wits away at Bidvest Stadium.


Newcomers, Baroka FC host Ajax Cape Town in Polokwane at Peter Mokaba Stadium and Cape Town City FC host Polokwane City at Cape Town Stadium on Tuesday.

Chippa United will host Free State Stars at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on the same night to complete the four matches on Tuesday.

Wednesday sees Platinum Stars at home to SuperSport United at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium with Orlando Pirates hosting Lamontville Golden Arrows at the Orlando Stadium.

The final match of the day will see Maritzburg United travelling to Bloemfontein Celtic at Dr Petrus Molemela Stadium.

Furthermore, the MTN8 Cup quarterfinals will take centre stage on Saturday, 27 August, and the league has also confirmed that the last block of fixtures of the league season will be played on Saturday, 27 May 2016.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment