Ighalo out as Nigeria call up Omeruo, Isaac Success for World Cup qualifier

Ighalo out as Nigeria call up Omeruo, Isaac Success for World Cup qualifier

by BackPageTXT

Thursday Sep 22, 2016. 17:35

Watford striker Odion Ighalo has been excused from next month’s World Cup qualifier in Zambia, but his club mate Isaac Success and Kenneth Omeruo have been called up

Rohr has excused Ighalo, who will attend his father’s burial in Nigeria on Saturday, 8th October – the eve of the big match at the Levy Nwanawasa Stadium in Ndola.

Injured KAA Gent of Belgium striker Moses Simon is listed after assuring Coach Rohr that he has started treatment and would be fully healed well ahead of the encounter.

Eagles coach Gernot Rohr, has released a list of 23 players  for the October 9 clash between the Super Eagles and Zambia’s Chipolopolo in Ndola.

The Franco-German retained belief in the squad who pipped Tanzania 1-0 in a 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match in Uyo on 3rdSeptember, but has added Alanyaspor of Turkey defender Kenneth Omeruo, Belgium–based midfielder Anderson Esiti and English Premiership duo Isaac Success and Alex Iwobi.

Skipper Mikel John Obi, assistant skipper Ahmed Musa, goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, defender Elderson Echiejile, midfielder Ogenyi Onazi and in –form Manchester City of England forward Kelechi Iheanacho are in the 23 –man roster.

All invited players are expected to start arriving in Abuja as from Sunday, 2nd October.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium), Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Anderson Esiti (KAA Gent, Belgium)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment