New Nigeria league champions to earn 40 million Naira prize money

New Nigeria league champions to earn 40 million Naira prize money
Enyimba were Nigeria league champions last season

by BackPageTXT

Wednesday Sep 28, 2016. 19:59

The new champions of this year’s Nigeria league will win 40 million Naira (less than $100,000) prize money, according to the League Management Company (LMC).

Enugu Rangers look poised to win this year’s competition as they are two points clear of closest rivals Rivers United and only need to avaoid defeat at home to El Kanemi on Sunday to win a first major trophy in 32 years.

A total of 200 million Naira will be shared by the 19 clubs in the league after Giwa FC were expelled for breaching competition rules and regulations.

Lsst season, champions Enyimba pocked 30 million Naira as prize money, while what the clubs earn has also increased with every season.

In the 2012/13 season, the total prize money was 50 million Naira, while the following season it rose to 75 million Naira.

According to figures released by LMC, the champions would have received a minimum of 90 million Naira in all direct payments for this season including the Basic Award, which comprises the pool of funds shared equally among all the clubs; the Merit Award paid to clubs on their final position on the table, the football development and the Bonus award, which is based on performances including incentives for improving attendances, away wins/draws, fielding players under the age of 18 and hosting live matches.

The lowest placed team this season will therefore get up to 55 million Naira from all payment centres.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment