Pierre Emerick Aubameyang Stars In Final Gabon Afcon Squad

Pierre Emerick Aubameyang Stars In Final Gabon Afcon Squad
Gabon and Borussia Dortmund forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Dec 28, 2016. 17:00

2017 Africa Cup of Nations hosts Gabon have named their final squad for the continental tournament with no major surprises.

Captain Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, who is in a rich-vein of scoring form at Borussia Dortmund, is the star man on the list.


Sunderland midfielder Ibrahim Didier Ndong makes the cut despite a fall out with the Federation in November when he failed to show up for a FIFA 2018 World Cup qualifier even though he arrived in Libreville.

Other notable names on the squad include Cardiff City’s Bruno Ecuélé Manga, Juventus’ Mario René Junior Lemina and goalkeeper Didier Ovono who features for Oostende of Belgium.

Gabon are in Group A alongside debutants Guinea Bissau, four time champions Cameroon and Burkina Faso.

The hosts open the tournament with Guinea Bissau in Libreville 14 on January 2017.

Gabon squad

Goalkeepers: Didier Ovono (Oostende, Belgium), Yves Stéphane Bitséki Moto (CF Mounana), Anthony Mfa Mezui (unattached).

Defenders: Lloyd Palun (Red Star, France), André Biyogho Poko (Karabukspor, Turkey), Aaron Appindangoye (Stade Lavallois, France), Franck Perrin Obambou (Stade Mandji), Bruno Ecuélé Manga (Cardiff City, Wales), Yoann Wachter (CS Sedan Ardennes, France), Johann Serge Obiang (Troyes, France), Benjamin Zé Ondo (Mosta FC, Malta)

Midfielders: Mario René Junior Lemina (Juventus, Italy), Junior Serge Martinsson Ngouali (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Levy Clément Madinda (Gimnàstic, Spain), Guélor Kanga Kaku (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Merlin Tandjigora (Meixian Hakka FC, China), Didier Ibrahim Ndong (Sunderland, England), Samson Mbingui (Raja Casablanca, Morocco)

Forwards: Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Malick Evouna (Tianjin Teda FC, China), Denis Athanase Bouanga (Tours, France), Serge Kevyn Aboue Angoue (Uniao Leiria, Portugal), Cedric Ondo Biyoghe (CF Mounana)

Standby: Axel Meyé (Eskisehirspor, Turkey), Johan Lengoualama (Raja Casablanca, Morocco), Donald Nzé (AS Pelican)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.