CAF snub Super Eagles stars in Africa XI for 2016

CAF snub Super Eagles stars in Africa XI for 2016
Manchester United and Cote d'Ivoire defender Eric Bailly

by Samm Audu

Thursday Jan 05, 2017. 08:29

Nigeria Super Eagles stars have failed to make the Africa XI for 2016 named by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Arsenal youngster Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho from Manchester City could only be named on the substitutes' bench.

The top three nominees for the prestigious CAF African Footballer of the Year for 2016 – Riyad Mahrez, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Sadio Mane – are on the starting line-up.

CAF recognised Mamelodi Sundowns top stars Denis Onyango, Khama Billiat and Keegan Dolly as they won an historic CAF Champions League last year to be included on this Dream Team.

The CAF African XI for 2016

Goalkeeper: Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & PSG), Aymen Abdenour (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce Lomalisa (DRC & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Forwards:Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)


Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Salif Coulibaly (Mali & TP Mazembe), Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment