Aziz Bouhaddouz named in Morocco AFCON squad

Aziz Bouhaddouz named in Morocco AFCON squad
Aziz Bouhaddouz (C)

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Jan 05, 2017. 15:00

Morocco have named their final squad for the upcoming 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals in Gabon.

The Lions of the Atlas 23-man squad for the tournament which will run from 14 January to 5 February, is dominated by players, who ply their trade in Europe.

Aziz Bouhaddouz has been added to the squad after the injuries of Younès Belhanda and Oussama Tannane.

Much-traveled tactician Herve Renard, who has won the AFCON twice with Zambia and Ivory Coast, will guide Morocco at his year's finals.

The Lions of the Atlas are in Group C along with defending champions Ivory Coast, Togo and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

Morocco squad

Goalkeepers: Yassine Bounou (Girona, Spain), Yassine El Kharroubi (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria), Munir Mohamedi (Numancia, Spain)

Defenders: Amine Attouchi (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco), Mehdi Benatia (Juventus, Italy), Fouad Chafik (Dijon, France), Manuel da Costa (Olympiakos, Greece), Nabil Dirar (Monaco, France), Hamza Mendyl (Lille, France), Romain Saiss (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England)

Midfielders: Youssef Ait Bennasser (Nancy, France), Nordin Amrabat (Watford, England), Sofiane Boufal (Southampton, England), Mbark Boussoufa (Al Jazeera, United Arab Emirates), Mehdi Carcela (Grenada, Spain), Karim El Ahmadi (Feyenoord Rotterdam, Holland), Faycal Fajr (Deportivo Coruna, Spain), Mourir Obbadi (Lille, France)

Forwards: Rachid Alioui (Nimes, France), Aziz Bouhaddouz (St Pauli, Germany), Khalid Boutaib (Racing Strasbourg, France), Youssef El Arabi (Al Lekhwiya, Qatar), Youssef Ennesyri (Malaga, Spain)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment