DRC announce final squad for 2017 AFCON

DRC announce final squad for 2017 AFCON
Neeskens Kebano of DR Congo

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Jan 08, 2017. 11:00

The Democratic Republic of Congo (D.R.C) have announced their final squad for the upcoming 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals in Gabon.

The Leopards included six players who ply their trade in England with Newcastle United defender-cum-midfielder Chancel Mbemba making the 23-man squad.

While Hull City centre forward Dieumerci Mbokani is expected to lead Leopards' front line during the prestigious continental tournament.

Leopards head coach Florent Ibenge also named five players, who are based in the DR Congo - four from TP Mazembe and one from their fierce rivals AS Vita Club.

The AFCON finals will run from January 14 to February 5. DR Congo are in Group C along with defending champions Ivory Coast, Togo and Morocco.

DRC 23-man squad


1. Kiassumbua Joel (Wohlen FC, Switzerland)
2. Matampi Vumi Ley (TP Mazembe, DR Congo)
3. Kudimbana Nicaise (Antwerp, Belgium)


4. Issama Mpeko Djo (TP Mazembe, DR Congo)
5. Bope Bokadi Merveille (TP Mazembe, DR Congo)
6. Lomalisa Mutambala (AS Vita Club, DR Congo)
7. Ikoko Jordan (Guingamp, France)
8. Tisserand Marcel (Fc Ingolstadt, Germany)
9. Zakuani Gabriel (Peterborough, England)
10 Fabrice N’sakala (Alanyaspor, Turkey)


11.Mulumba Remy (Gazelec FC Ajaccio, France)
12.Mpoku Paul-Jose (Panathinaikos, Greece)
13.Herve Kage (KV kortrijk, Belgium)
14.Mbemba Chancel (Newcastle, England)
15.Youssuf Mulumbu (Norwich City, England)
16.Maghoma Jacques (Birmingham, England)
17.Kebano Neeskens (Fulham, England)


18.Mubele Ndombe Firmin (Al Ahli Doha, Qatar)
19.Jeremy Bokila Loteteka (Al Quarittyah, Qatar)
20.Bakambu Cedrick (Villarreal, Spain)
21.Bolingi Mpangi Jonathan (Tp Mazembe, DR Congo)
22.Botaka Jordan (Charlton Athletic, England)
23.Mbokani Bezua Dieumerci (Hull City, England)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment