Stallions advance as Group A winners

Stallions advance as Group A winners
Brito E Silva Toni of Guinea Bissau is challenged by Yacouba Coulibaly of Burkina Faso during the Afcon Group A match between Guinea Bissau and Burkina Faso on the 22 January 2017 at Franceville , Gabon Pic Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Jan 22, 2017. 23:19

Burkina Faso booked their place in the knockout stages of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations following a 2-0 win over Guinea Bissau at the Stade de Franceville in the Gabonese city of Franceville on Sunday.

The Stallions advancing as Group A winners with Cameroon to join the 2013 AFCON runners-up in the latter stages of the competition. Minnows Guinea-Bissau bowing out alongside hosts Gabon, who were held to a 0-0 draw by the Indomitable Lions in Libreville at the same time.

Paulo Duarte's men made their intentions clear from the onset with Bertrand Traore guilty of missing a golden chance in the eighth minute after he was played straight through on goal by Prejuce Nakoulma.

Burkina Faso, though, would score soon after as Rudinilson directed the ball into the back of his own net. Tomas Dabo tried desperately to clear from danger, but the ball was adjudged to have crossed the line.

Djurtus first chance of the match fell the way of Piqueti in the 44th minute, but he was to be brilliantly denied by Kouakou Hervé Koffi. Burkina Faso 1-0 up at the interval.

Bertrand Traore doubled Burkina Faso's lead in the 57th minute. Brilliant work by Aristide Bancé and Nakoulma in the build up, with the latter setting up the Ajax man who finished with aplomb.

Zezinho and Toni Silva would probe late on for Guinea-Bissau, but Burkina Faso held firm as they sealed their passage to the next round.

Guinea-Bissau (0) 0
Burkina Faso (1) 2 (Rudinilson OG 11' Bertrand Traore 57')

Guinea-Bissau: Jonas; Mamadu Cande, Rudinilson, Juary, Dabo - Piqueti (A.Camara 65') , Junior Santos (Aldair Balde 75'), Nanissio (L.Camara 63'), Toni Silva - F.Mendy, Zezinho

Burkina Faso: Koffi; Coulibaly, Kone, Dayo, Yago - Nakoulma, Abdou Traore, Kabore, B.Traore (Sare 78') - Alain Traore (Toure 67'), Bance ( Bayala 59')

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.