SA coach Senong names strong squad for U20 AFCON finals

SA coach Senong names strong squad for U20 AFCON finals
Khanyisa Mayo

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Tuesday Feb 21, 2017. 15:00

The South African Football Association (SAFA) have unveiled South Africa's final 21-man squad for the 2017 Under-20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals.

The tournament will be hosted by Zambia between 26 February - 12 March. South Africa's Amajita are in Group B along with Cameroon, Senegal and Sudan.

Amajita head coach Thabo Senong says he selected a strong squad which includes players, who were part of the Amajita team that finished second at the 2015 U17 AFCON finals in Niger.

"We are going to a tough tournament so it is imperative that we take our strongest players," Senong told the official SAFA website.

"We have managed to assess the players in the matches against Zambia last week and Mali on Sunday and this is our final squad and I am happy with it.

"They (players) understand what is expected of them in the tournament and we have set objectives for this team," he said.

"We are happy that the players have experience with some coming from the U17 national set up, some from the COSAFA Cup played last year and others from the U23 set up; therefore we are confident going into the tournament."


Sanele Tshabalala -Bidvest Wits F.C (RSA)

Mondli Mpoto - SuperSport United F.C (RSA)

Khulekani Kubheka - Mamelodi Sundowns F.C (RSA)


Notha Nature Ngcobo - Mamelodi Sundowns F.C (RSA)

Repo Tercious Malepe - Orlando Pirates F.C (RSA)

Aghmat Ridhaa Ceres - Ajax Cape Town F.C (RSA)

Siyabonga Ngezana - Kaizer Chiefs F.C (RSA)

Katlego Mohamme - SuperSport United F.C (RSA)

Sandile Mthethwa - Orlando Pirates F.C (RSA)

Thendo Mukumela - Mamelodi Sundowns F.C (RSA)


Teboho Mokoena - SuperSport United F.C (RSA)

Sipho Percevale Mbule - Orlando Pirates F.C (RSA)

Wiseman Meyiwa - Kaizer Chiefs F.C (RSA)

Phakamani Mahlambi - Bidvest Wits F.C (RSA)

Sibongakonke Ntuthuko Mbatha - Bidvest Wits F.C (RSA)

Kobamelo Kodisang - Platinum Stars F.C (RSA)

Grant Margeman - Ajax Cape Town F.C (RSA)


Itumeleng Shopane - Kaizer Chiefs F.C (RSA)

Khanyisa Erick Mayo - SuperSport United F.C (RSA)

Liam Jonathan Jordan - Sporting CP (Portugal)

Luther Singh - Sporting Braga B (Portugal)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment