Thabo Senong attends FIFA U20 World Cup draw

Thabo Senong attends FIFA U20 World Cup draw
Thabo Senong

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Tuesday Mar 14, 2017. 11:00

The South African Football Association (SAFA) have revealed that the under-20 head coach Thabo Senong will be heading to South Korea for the 2017 U20 World Cup finals draw.

Amajita recently qualified for the global competition after reaching the semi-finals of this year's U20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals.

Senong's side finished fourth after losing 2-1 to Guinea's Young National Elephants in the third-place game in Lusaka, Zambia on Sunday..

SAFA have since released the following statement on their official website:

With the World Cup tournament around the corner, there is no rest time for head coach Thabo Senong.

This evening (Monday, 13 March 2017) he is off to the draw in South Korea, and will be accompanied by Team Manager Levy Ramajoe.

The draw will be held on Wednesday, 15 March 2017 at the Suwon Artrium in Suwon, South Korea.

The draw will be followed by a team workshop as well inspection visits to venues where teams will be drawn to play. The duo is back in the country on Saturday, 18 March.

Two Argentine players who have won the FIFA U-20 World Cup, Diego Maradona and Pablo Aimar, will participate in the draw.

The 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup will be the 21st edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

A total of 23 teams have qualified for the final tournament, while South Korea come in a hosts to make 24 up nations in total. All six Confederations are represented.

NB: The top two teams of each group and the four best third-placed teams advance to the round of 16

Here are the qualified teams:

AFC:Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam (first appearance**)

CAF:Guinea, Senegal, South Africa, Zambia/td>

CONCACAF:Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, USA/td>

CONMEBOL:Argentina, Ecuador, Uruguay, Venezuela/td>

OFC:New Zealand, Vanuatu (first appearance**) /td>

EUFA:England, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal/td>



The 24 qualified teams are allocated to four pots of six teams each, based on a ranking built according to past sporting performance
The ranking is based on the total points obtained in the last five FIFA U-20 World Cups (3 points for a win - 1 point for a draw, 0 for a loss)
The ranking used to build the pots is thus based on the points obtained at the 2015, 2013, 2011, 2009 and 2007 FIFA U-20 World Cups
To enable the ranking to accurately reflect current form, the greatest importance is given to results from the most recent FIFA U-20 World Cups. To a lesser degree, attention is also paid to results from previous years.

The system uses five cycles as the points earned in one World Cup decline linearly within the past five cycles:

Year 2015: 100% value of total points
Year 2013: 80% value of total points
Year 2011: 60% value of total points
Year 2009: 40% value of total points
Year 2007: 20% value of total points
In addition, five bonus points are added to each of the confederation champions that won a qualifying tournament.

Based on the above ranking, the five top teams and the hosts are allocated to Pot 1, the next six teams to Pot 2 and so on.

This then means:

POT 1: Korea Republic, Portugal, Uruguay, France, USA, Germany
POT 2: Mexico, Argentina, New Zealand, Senegal, Japan, Costa Rica
POT 3: Zambia, Honduras, England, Saudi Arabia, Italy, Venezuela
POT 4: Ecuador, South Africa, Iran, Vietnam, Guinea, Vanuatu


The four pots representing the teams are labeled Pots 1 to 4

The six pots representing the groups/venues are labeled Groups A to F

In each pot, there are four balls which contain the position numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4 of each respective group

The draw starts with Pot 1 and ends with Pot 4. Each pot is completely emptied before moving on to the next pot

A ball from a team pot will be drawn, followed by a ball from one of the groups, thus determining the position in which the respective team will play.


In Pot 1, Korea Republic are in a red ball and have been pre-assigned to position A1 as hosts.

FIFA’s general principle is to ensure that no group has more than one team from the same confederation drawn into it

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.