Stars and Chippa both avoid relegation

Stars and Chippa both avoid relegation
Linda Mntambo of Jomo Cosmos concentrates on the ball as Sandile Zuke of Chippa United passes it during the 2017 Nedbank Cup quarterfinal game between Chippa United and Jomo Cosmos at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth on 22 April 2017 © Deryck Foster/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday May 27, 2017. 17:09

Free State Stars and Chippa United played to a goalless draw in their Absa Premiership clash at Goble Park on Saturday afternoon.

The result ensures both Ea Lla Koto and the Chilli Boys finish clear of the relegation zone and they will play top flight football next season.

The first notable effort on goal arrived in the 17th minute, with Stars’ Nhlanhla Vilakazi shooting direct from a free kick, but Chippa goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi made a relatively comfortable save.

On the half hour mark the hosts threatened from a set piece again - this time Thokozani Sekotlong went for goal from a free kick, but struck his effort just wide of the target, much to the relief of Akpeyi.

Chippa’s lack of control in midfield saw them make a change 10 minutes before the half time break, with Mbulelo Wambi coming off the bench to replace Sandile Zuke.

The substitute soon had an effort on goal, but Stars remained the more potent side in attack, with chances for Vilakazi and Sinethemba Jantjie in the dying minutes of the first half which they were unable to convert.

Chippa also made the first change of the second half when they introduced Tswarelo Bereng in place of striker Rhulani Manzini, who had a quiet game upfront for the Chilli Boys.

In the 69th minute Stars threatened through veteran captain Paulus Masehe, who got on the end of a corner kick from Jantjie but sent his header over the target.

Chippa had offered little in attack through the second half, but on 86 minutes they had a chance for Mpho Mvelase, who was unable to beat Thela Ngobeni in the Ea Lla Koto goal.

Free State Stars 0
Chippa United 0

Stars: Ngobeni, Mashego, Teyise, Mahamutsa, Mbhele, Jantjie, Vilakazi, Masehe, Makhaula, Sekotlong (Venter 66’), Anas (Maphakisa 84’)

Chippa: Akpeyi, Mako, Chabalala, Thopola, Mvelase, Masuku (Kama 84’), Zuke (Wambi 36’), Mbenyane, Ngubane, Mbokoma, R. Manzini (Bereng 51’)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.