CT City demolished in Polokwane

CT City demolished in Polokwane
Jabulani Maluleke of Polokwane City ©Samuel Shivambu/Backpagepix

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Saturday May 27, 2017. 17:31

Cape Town City did not finish their 2016/17 Absa Premiership campaign on a high as they lost 4-2 to Polokwane City on on Saturday afternoon at Peter Mokaba Stadium.

Aubrey Ngoma and Lehlohonolo Majoro scored for City and the Capetonians will now play in the 2018 CAF Confederation Cup, as they finished at number three with 55 points.

For the hosts, goals came through Jabulani Maluleke, Thabiso Semenya, Sibusiso Mbonani and Vusi Mngomezulu.

The visiting Citizens had a bright start as they put their hosts under pressure from the first whistle.

Ngoma netted for the Telkom Knockout champions from a well-struck set piece in the first minute to beat goalkeeper George Chigova.

Five minutes later, Majoro doubled their led when he finished a beautiful assist from his skipper Lebogang Manyama.

With the hosts trying to dominate the proceedings, they pushed defender Robyn Johannes to commit a foul and skipper Jabulani Maluleke scored from a fine set piece in the 18th minute.

The 37th minute saw Chigova called to produce a fine save as he parried the ball away from danger to deny Ngoma from claiming his brace.

But with five minutes to go to half time, Semenya made it 2-2 for the hosts as he finished off Sipho Jembula's delivery. It was 2-2 at he interval.

However, Bernard Molekwa's men bounced back with more hunger as they claimed a lead through Mbonani, who converted from Maluleke's corner kick in the 50th minute.

In the 71st minute, Mngomezulu proved to be a super sub when he made it 4-2 for Rise and Shine as they dominated the proceedings.

The win for the hosts sees them sitting at the sixth spot with 43 points from 30 league as they qualify for the MTN8 for the first time in their history.

Polokwane City (2) 4 (Maluleke 18', Semenya 40',Mbonani 50', Mngomezulu 71')
Cape Town City (2) 2 (Ngoma 1', Majoro 6')

Polokwane City: Polokwane: Chigova, Semenya, Phiri (Vilakazi 63'), Mbonani, Hlongwane, Tshilo, Ramagalela (Kanyenda 78'), Seabi, Jembula (Mngomezulu 69') , Maluleke, Tlolane

Cape Town City: Walters, Kobola, Gumede, Johannes, Seedat (Seedat 72'), Manyama, Koapeng (Dubula 46'), Nodada, Jayiya (Moseamedi 58'), Ngoma, Majoro

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment