AfricanFootball’s stats review of the 2016/17 Absa Premiership

AfricanFootball’s stats review of the 2016/17 Absa Premiership
Thulani Hlatshwayo, Gabadinhno Mhango and Buhle Mkhwanazi of Bidvest Wits holds aloft the trophy as Wits are crowned the 2016/2017 Absa Premiership Champions during the Absa Premiership 2016/17 match between Kaizer Chiefs and Bidvest Wits at the FNB Stadium, Johannesburg South Africa on 27 May 2017 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Sunday May 28, 2017. 10:00

AfricanFootball takes a closer look at the numbers after the 2016/17 Absa Premiership season wrapped up on Saturday with eight matches played simultaneously across South Africa.

We look at the campaign’s most salient stats following Bidvest Wits’ title triumph, direct relegation for Highlands Park and Baroka FC’s entry into the playoffs.

1 - Bidvest Wits’ title triumph was the club’s first in its 96-year history.

2 - Outgoing champions Mamelodi Sundowns finished second despite having the best attack (52 goals scored), best defence (20 goals conceded), best goal difference (+32) and fewest defeats (five).

4 - Wits manager Gavin Hunt has now won four PSL titles (three with SuperSport United, one with the Clever Boys) and joins Gordon Igesund and Ted Dumitru as four-time champions in South Africa’s top flight.

6 - Wits’ Daine Klate won a record sixth PSL title as a player - he won three with SuperSport, two with Orlando Pirates (those five arrived in succession) and now one with the Clever Boys.

9 - Bloemfontein Celtic avoided the relegation zone by one point despite failing to win any of their last nine league matches.

11 - The final league position of Orlando Pirates. It is the first time the Buccaneers have finished outside of the top eight in the PSL era (1996/97 onwards).

13 - The number of goals netted by Cape Town City’s Lebogang Manyama to be the Absa Premiership’s leading scorer this season.

16 - The number of goals scored by Bloemfontein Celtic, the lowest of any team in the PSL since Jomo Cosmos’ tally of 13 in the 2007/08 season.

22-10 - A total of 22 points covered the top half of the table, while just 10 points covered the bottom half. Two points covered the bottom five finishers.

44 - Despite having the equal-worst defence in the league (44 goals conceded, the same as relegated Highlands Park) Golden Arrows still finished in the top eight.

60 - Wits’ points total of 60 is the lowest to win the title since Kaizer Chiefs claimed the 2012/13 championship with 57 points.

538 - The number of goals scored in the 2016/17 Absa Premiership season, at an average of 2.24 per match.

10-million - The prize money in South African rand won by Bidvest Wits for their Absa Premiership title success.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment