USA coach names 23-man squad for clash with Ghana

USA coach names 23-man squad for clash with Ghana
Jonathan Mensah of Ghana shields the ball away from Blati Toure of Burkina Faso during the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations ©Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Monday Jun 26, 2017. 16:00

USA coach Bruce Arena has named his 23-man squad for the friendly international with Ghana this weekend, as well as the 2017 Concacaf Gold Cup.

The Stars and Stripes will host the Black Stars for a friendly clash at the Pratt & Whitney Stadium in Connecticut on July 1.

The fixture will be Ghana’s second and final of the two-match tour in North American, which begins with a clash against Mexico on June 29 in Houston.

The USA are using the match against the West Africans as their final preparation for the Gold Cup, which will see them play as hosts and tackle Panama, Martinique and Nicaragua in the group phase.

The Gold Cup kicks off on July 7 and coach Bruce Arena is happy with the mix of players he has at his disposal in their final 23.

''It’s a good roster with a nice blend of experienced, veteran players and a good group of newcomers as well,” Arena explained.

''There’s good balance at every position. We can play a number of ways, and I think all these players have a desire to play for the U.S. and will be working hard.

“It will be a competitive camp. They are going to be highly motivated, very coachable and they have an opportunity to make a statement.''

USA squad to face Ghana

GOALKEEPERS: Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna, MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment