PSL Award nominees in South Africa unveiled

PSL Award nominees in South Africa unveiled
Thulani Hlatshwayo celebrates with trophy as Wits are crowned the 2016/2017 Absa Premiership Champions during the 2016/17 Absa Premiership football match between Kaizer Chiefs and Bidvest Wits at Soccer City, Johannesburg on 27 May 2017 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Tuesday Jun 27, 2017. 15:30

Just after wrapping up the 2016/17 Premier Soccer League season, the PSL has announced Award nominees.

The Awards ceremony is set to be staged on July 10 at the Sandton Convention Centre.

Absa Premiership champions Bidvest Wits are dominating the nominees as they bagged the MTN8 Cup and the league.

On the other hand, Telkom Knockout Cup winners, Cape Town City made an impression in their maiden PSL season and are set to walk away with more than one award.

Although Mamelodi Sundowns failed to lift a domestic trophy, they claimed the CAF Champions League and Super Cup, and they also have their players nominated for a number of accolades.

Meanwhile, Kaizer Chiefs' defender Ramahlwe Mphahlele gets a nomination for the Defender of the Season.

Despite their loss in the final to SuperSport United, two Orlando Pirates players in Abbubaker Mobara and Mpho Makola get the nod for the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

The full list of nominees

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Shuaib Walters (Cape Town City)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Sifiso Hlanti, Thulani Hlatshwayo (both Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabang Monare (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Top goal scorer (winner): Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Eric Tinkler (Cape Town City), Gavin hunt (Bidvest Wits), Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season: Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nduduzo Sibiya (Golden Arrows), Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Player of the Season: Aubrey Ngoma, Lebogang Manyama (both Cape Town City), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Abbubaker Mobara, Mpho Makola (both Orlando Pirates), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament: Nduduzo Sibiya, Siyabonga Dube (both Golden Arrows), Teboho Mokeona (SuperSport United)

MTN 8 Last Man Standing: Thulani Hlatshwayo, Daine Klate, Gabadinho Mhango (all Bidvest Wits)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Aubrey Ngoma, Lebogang Manyama (both Cape Town City), Michael Boxall (SuperSport United)

NFD Top goal scorer (winner): Sedwyn George (Royal Eagles)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment