Mauritius frustrate wasteful Malawi

Mauritius frustrate wasteful Malawi
Innocent Bokosi of Malawi challenged by Emmanuel Jean of Mauritius during the Cosafa Castle Cup match between Malawi and Mauritius at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Rustenburg on 27 June 2017 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Tuesday Jun 27, 2017. 19:16

Mauritius held Malawi to a 0-0 draw in the 2017 COSAFA Cup Group A match at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Rustenburg on Tuesday.

The draw sees the Flames and the Club M remain fourth, and third respectively on the Group A standings with a point each, while group leaders Tanzania have three points.

The Flames threatened first when Innocent Bokosi unleashed a shot which was saved by Mauritius goalkeeper Kevin Jean-Louis 14 minutes into the game.

The Club M also had a chance in the 23rd minute, but Kevin Perticots fired wide of the target without testing Malawi keeper Ernest Kakhobwe.

Jean-Louis was also called into action on the half-hour and this time he denied Malawi striker Jabulani Linje as the Flames continued to press the Club M.

The 28-year-old shot-stopper then denied Sailesi for the second time in the 34th minute as pressure mounted on the Mauritius defence.

However, the Club M were able to contain the Flames and the first-half ended goalless thanks to Jean-Louis' decent saves.

The Flames continued their dominance in the second-half and John Lanjesi forced Jean-Louis into a save 11 minutes after the restart.

Jean-Louis continued to keep Mauritius in the game and the keeper also denied Malawi striker Bokosi five minutes after the hour-mark.

With 10 minutes left on the clock, Mauritius coach Joe Tshupula introduced Laval Jesson Rungassamy as the Club M searched for a late winner.

However, neither side were able to score in the closing stages of the encounter and ultimately, Malawi, and Mauritius drew 0-0.

Malawi (0) 0
Mauritius (0) 0

Malawi: Kakhobwe, Sanudi, Chembezi, Lanjesi, Chirwa, Mhone (Chester 66'), Bokosi, Sailesi, Linje, Maganizo, Chinyama (Mulimbika 58').

Mauritius: Jean-Louis, Dorza, Vincent-Jean, Rasolofonirina, Balisson, Bell, Langue, Villeneuve, Perticots (Rungassamy 80'), Saramandif (Jocelyn 73'), Eduardo (Rose 90').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment