Zambia edge out wasteful Botswana

Zambia edge out wasteful Botswana
Lubinda Mundia of Zambia

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Saturday Jul 01, 2017. 17:25

Zambia defeated Botswana 2-1 in the 2017 COSAFA Cup quarter-final match at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Rustenburg, South Africa on Saturday.

As a result, Chipolopolo advance to the semi-finals, while the Zebras will take part in the plate semi-finals.

It took only 11 minutes for Chipolopolo to take the lead after the Zebras defence failed to clear the ball away following an attack by Zambia.

Brian Mwila then pounced - beating Botswana goalkeeper Mwampule Masule with a powerful low shot to make it 1-0 to Zambia.

The Zebras only started pressing Chipolopolo after the half-hour mark with Lesego Galenamotlhale playing an important role in central midfield.

However, Botswana suffered a blow when Omaatla Kebatho went down injured and he was replaced by Thabo Leinanyane in the 37th minute.

Chipolopolo managed to contain the Zebras in the remaining minutes of the first-half and the score was 1-0 to Zambia at the interval.

The Zebras started the second-half brightly with Thero Setsile forcing Zambia keeper Allan Chibwe into a comfortable save three minutes into the second-half.

However, as the match progressed the Chipolopolo regained control of the match and they managed to double their lead in the 70th minute.

Justin Shonga's low shot was deflected into the back of the net by Botswana defender Moreetsi Mosimanyana - making it 2-0 to Zambia.

Botswana were then awarded a penalty which was saved by Chibwe, who denied substitute Thabang Sesinyi, after the latter was fouled in the Zambia box.

However, the Zebras did score through Kabelo Seakanyeng, who beat Chibwe with a good shot to make it 2-1 with 11 minutes left on the clock.

It was end-to-end stuff in the closing stages of the match as Chibwe and Masule pulled off great saves and ultimately, Zambia emerged 2-1 winners.

Botswana (0) 1 (Seakanyeng 79')
Zambia (1) 2 (Mwila 11', Mosimanyana 70')

Botswana: Masule, Gadibolae (Kgaswane 46'), Gaolalwe, Mosimanyana, Sosome, Galenamotlhale, Setsile (Sesinyi 71'), Seakanyeng, Kebatho (Leinanyane 37'), Orebonye, Tshireletso.

Zambia: Chibwe, Malama, I.Shamujompa, Mulenga, Chungu, Chirwa, Chikwekwe (Ngwenya 61'), Katiba, Shonga (Sakala 84'), Mwila, M.Nsofwa (Mundia 50').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment