Wedson Nyirenda names Zambia squad to face Algeria

Wedson Nyirenda names Zambia squad to face Algeria
Salzburg's Daka Patson (C) celebrates the 2-1 victory after the UEFA Youth League semi-final match

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Thursday Aug 24, 2017. 09:30

Zambian national team coach Wedson Nyirenda has named his squad to face Algeria in their two 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers next month.

Nyirenda has left out skipper Rainford Kalaba and club-less striker Collins Mbesuma whilst drafting seven U20 players for next Saturday’s qualifier.

The U20 players are Boston Muchindu, Moses Nyondo, Edward Chilufya, Enock Mwepu, Patson Daka, Emmanuel Banda as well as Fashion Sakala.

Nyirenda said he is building a new squad as he handed Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper, Kennedy Mweene the captain's armband.

Kalaba, who plays for Democratic Republic of Congo side TP Mazembe, is suspended for the first leg, but is eligible for the return leg on September 5.

“For now Kalaba is not part of the team and the boys Clatous, Fwayo and Billy we did what we did and now the boys have learnt something and they have shown remorse, so they are back,” said Nyirenda.


On the other hand, midfielder Roderick Kabwe of South African side Ajax Cape Town and striker Brian Mwila of South African outfit Platinum Stars are also called-up.

The Chipolopolo will regroup for camp next Monday, 28 August.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Kennedy Mweene (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Toaster Nsabata (Zanaco), Allan Chibwe (Power Dynamos)

Defenders: Donashano Malama, Boston Muchindu, Moses Nyondo (all Nkana), Simon Silwimba, Fackson Kapumbu (Zesco United), Ziyo Tembo (Zanaco), Isaac Shamujompa, Billy Mutale (both Power), Adrian Chama (Green Buffaloes), Webster Mulenga (Red Arrows), Stopilla Sunzu (Arsenal Tula, Russia)

Midfielders: Kondwani Mtonga, John Ching’andu, Misheck Chaila (all Zesco), Emmanuel Banda (Ostende, Belgium), Roderick Kabwe (Ajax Cape Town), Ernest Mbewe, Augustine Mulenga (both Zanaco), Edward Chilufya (Mpande Youth Academy), Enock Mwepu (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria), Clatous Chama, Fwayo Tembo (both Lusaka Dynamos), Godfrey Ngwenya (Power Dynamos), Chisamba Lungu (Allanyespor, Turkey)

Strikers: Patson Daka (Red bull Salzburg, Austria), Brian Mwila (Platinum Stars, South Africa), Justin Shonga (Nkwazi), Fashion Sakala (Spartak Moscow,Russia), Martin Phiri and Alex Ng’onga (both Power).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment