Former French juniors Niang & Sabaly called up by Senegal

Former French juniors Niang & Sabaly called up by Senegal
Keita Balde of Senegal during the 2017 African Cup of Nations Finals Afcon football match between Senegal and Zimbabwe at the Franceville Stadium in Gabon on 19 January 2017 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Thursday Sep 21, 2017. 14:00

Former French junior internationals M’Baye Niang and Youssouf Sabaly have been called up by Senegal coach Aliou Cisse for the upcoming 2018 World Cup qualifier against Cape Verde.

The Teranga Lions will face the Blue Sharks in Praia on October 7 and Cisse has named a powerful 26-man squad.

Niang, who is currently on loan at Torino from AC Milan, has previously rejected call-ups from Senegal but remains eligible to switch his international allegiance.

Bordeaux defender Sabaly won the Under-20 World Cup with France in 2013, while a third rookie hoping to make his debut for Senegal is Alfred Gomis, a former Italy youth international goalkeeper.

The likes of Sadio Mane, Idrissa Gueye, Kalidou Koulibaly and Keita Balde have made the cut for the squad, though there is no place for Mame Biram Diouf and Pape Souare, with the latter having finally returned from a long injury layoff.

Senegal squad:

Goalkeepers: Khadim Ndiaye (Horoya, Guinea), Alfred Gomis (SPAL 2013, Italy), Clement Diop (LA Galaxy, United States)

Defenders: Moussa Wague (Eupen, Belgium), Lamine Gassama (Alanyaspor, Turkey), Fallou Diagne (Metz, France), Saliou Ciss (SCO Angers, France), Kara Mbodj (Anderlecht, Belgium), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli, Italy), Youssouf Sabaly (Bordeaux, France), Adama Mbengue (Caen, France)

Midfielders: Idrissa Gana Gueye (Everton, England), Pape Alioune Ndiaye (Galatasaray, Turkey), Cheikhou Kouyate (West Ham United, England), Cheikh Ndoye (Birmingham City, England), Alfred Ndiaye (Wolves, England), Salif Sane (Hannover, Germany), Assane Diousse (Sainte-Etienne, France)

Forwards: Diao Balde Keita (Monaco, France), Moussa Konate (Amiens, France), Moussa Sow (Al Ahly Dubai, UAE), Ismaila Sarr (Rennes, France), Opa Nguette (Metz, France), Diafra Sakho (West Ham United, England), M'Baye Niang (Torino, Italy), Sadio Mane (Liverpool, England)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment