Algeria to face Cameroon without Mahrez & Slimani

Algeria to face Cameroon without Mahrez & Slimani
Islam Slimani of Algeria shoots at goal during the 2017 African Cup of Nations Finals Afcon football match between Algeria and Tunisia at the Franceville Stadium in Gabon on 19 January 2017 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Monday Oct 02, 2017. 12:00

Algeria will be without Riyad Mahrez, Nabil Bentaleb and Islam Slimani when they lock horns with Cameroon in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier this weekend.

This is after Algeria suffered home and away defeats against Zambia in their last qualifiers which ended their hopes of reaching next year's finals. As a result, the Algerian Football Federation stated that they would try out new players for the last two qualifiers.

The match between Algeria and the reigning African champions Cameroon, who also saw their hopes of qualifying ending last month, will be played at the Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo in Yaoundé on Saturday.

Cameroon's Indomitable Lions and the Desert Foxes are placed third and fourth respectively on the Group B standings. Group leaders Nigeria will qualify if they beat Zambia in Uyo on Saturday.

Algeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Raïs M'Bolhi (Stade Rennes, France), Abdelkadir Salhi (CR Belouizdad, Algeria), Toufik Moussaoui (Paradou AC, Algeria).

Defenders: Mohamed Fares (Hellas Verona, Italy), Faouzi Ghoulam (SSC Napoli, Italy), Rami Bensebaini (Stade Rennes, France), Aïssa Mandi (Real Betis, Spain), Abdelkader Bedrane (ES Sétif, Algeria), Liassine Cadamuro-Bentaiba (Nîmes Olympique, France), Farouk Chafai (USM Alger, Algeria), Sofiane Feghouli (Galatasaray SK, Turkey), Zinedine Ferhat (Le Havre AC, France).

Midfielders: Raouf Benguit (USM Alger, Algeria), Sofiane Bendebka (MC Alger, Algeria), Saphir Taider (Bologna FC, Italy), Sofiane Daham (FC Sochaux, France).

Forwards: Hilal El Arabi Soudani (GNK Dinamo Zagreb, Croatia), Rachid Ghezzal (AS Monaco, France), Abderrahmane Meziane (USM Alger, Algeria), Yacine Brahimi (FC Porto, Portugal), Sofiane Hanni (RSC Anderlecht, Belgium), Ishak Belfodil (SV Werder Bremen, Germany), Oussama Darfalou (USM Alger, Germany).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.