Morocco to host 2018 CHAN finals as Egypt qualify

Morocco to host 2018 CHAN finals as Egypt qualify

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Sunday Oct 15, 2017. 19:00

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have announced that Morocco will replace Kenya as hosts of the 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN).

The continent's football governing body, CAF unanimously decided to give Morocco the tournament ahead of Equatorial Guinea.

The awarding of the tournament to Morocco also benefits Egypt, who were awarded Morocco's place - now freed up as hosts.

This is after Egypt were initially knocked out by their fellow North Africans in qualifying.

The announcement was made on Sunday.

A statement read: "Following the designation of Morocco as host of Total CHAN 2018, CAF Emergency Committee, meeting in Lagos, decided to qualify Egypt for the final tournament. In the playoffs in the Northern zone, Egypt was beaten by Morocco.

"It will be Egypt's very first participation in this competition, running since 2009, which will be in its 5th edition and gather only players playing in the championships of their countries.
Meanwhile, the Emergency Committee rejected Mali's protest and confirmed the qualification of Mauritania which will be its participating in Total CHAN for the 2nd time, after 2014 in South Africa."

The list of 16 countries qualified for Total CHAN, Morocco 2018, scheduled for 12 January to 4 February 2018, is as follows:

North zone (2 qualified + host country): Egypt, Libya, Morocco
Eastern Central Zone (2 qualified): Ethiopia, Uganda
Central Zone (3 qualified): Cameroon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea
West Zone A (2 qualified): Guinea, Mauritania
West Zone B (3 qualified): Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Nigeria
Southern Zone (3 qualified): Angola, Namibia, Zambia

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.