Late Rodney Ramagalela spot kick takes Polokwane to victory

Late Rodney Ramagalela spot kick takes Polokwane to victory
Rodney Ramagalela of Polokwane City

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Dec 16, 2017. 17:52

Rodney Ramagalela continued his scoring form in the Absa Premiership by netting the only goal to see Polokwane City defeat Chippa United at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday.

The former Mamelodi Sundowns forward converted a late penalty to see Rise and Shine end a five-match winless streak and move up to 12th on the log table. The Chilli Boys have now lost two matches in a row but move up one place to fifth thanks to Bloemfontein Celtic’s heavy defeat.

Chippa created most of the goal-scoring chances through the first half and missed out on two notable opportunities: Katlego Mashego headed wide in the eight minute after meeting a cross from the right, while James Okwuosa was denied by a good save from George Chigova on 34 minutes, having got up well to meet a corner kick.

Yet Polokwane had their threatening moments too, with Rendani Ndou volleying over midway through the half, while a deflected effort from Walter Musona hit the outside of Chippa goalkeeper Brighton Mhlongo’s near post 10 minutes before the interval.

The Chilli Boys continued to build pressure in the second half, and just before the hour mark Mashego shot over the crossbar after meeting a fine cross from Kurt Lentjies, while shortly thereafter winger Paseka Mako was brought down in the box but the hosts’ appeals for a penalty were waved away.

Ironically it was City who were awarded a spot kick late in the game when Okwuosa was adjudged to have fouled Ramagalela. The forward brushed himself off and took the penalty himself, beating goalkeeper Brighton Mhlongo to seal a vital three points for his team.

Chippa United 0
Polokwane City (0) 1 (Ramagalela 86’ pen)

Chippa: Mhlongo, Thopola, Bergman, Okwuosa, Maphanga, Mvelase (Mayambela 55’), Mabaso (Lentjies 39’), Zuke, Mako, Mdlinzo, Mashego (Julies 68’)

Polokwane: Chigova, Maponyane (Tshela 79’), Semenya, Mbonani, Hlongwane, Vilakazi, Phiri, J. Maluleke, Musona, Ramagalela, Ndou (Booi 66’)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.