Superstar nominees arrive in Ghana for CAF Awards

Superstar nominees arrive in Ghana for CAF Awards
epa06186689 Egyptian player Mohamed Salah (L) in action against Uganda player Godfrey Walusimbi (R) during the FIFA World Cup 2018 qualifying soccer match between Egypt and Uganda at Borg Al Arab stadium in Alexandria, Egypt, 05 September 2017. EPA/KHALED ELFIQI

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Wednesday Jan 03, 2018. 16:30

Ahead of the 2017 Aiteo CAF Awards ceremony in Ghana, African football legends and awards nominees have started to arrive in Accra.

The Awards Gala event which is scheduled for Thursday, January 4 at the Accra International Conference Centre will see the decoration of players, officials and administrators for their achievements in 2017.

A statement released by CAF reveals that stakeholders of the game are looking forward to the event as nominees and legends flock the Ghanaian capital for the much awaited event.

“From Abedi Pele, winner of the maiden edition in 1992 through to Riyad Mahrez, crowned in 2016, the winners who represent various generations will be given prominence at the ceremony designed to celebrate the key players of African football,” reads a statement.

“Others are Nigerian trio, Emmanuel Amuneke, Nwankwo Kanu and Victor Ikpeba, Cameroonian and four-time winner, Samuel Eto’o Fils and compatriot Patrick Mboma, Ivorian Yaya Toure, a four-time winner and countryman Didier Drogba and El Hadji Diouf of Senegal.

“The rest are Mustapha Hadji of Morocco, Malian Frederic Kanoute, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Togolese Emmanuel Adebayor.

“Also, the women are not left out as previous Queens of African football are also pencilled for the biggest assemblage of football stakeholders.

“The list of invitees is not only limited to previous winners, but also to other players and officials whose contribution towards the progress of African football cannot be overlooked.”

Meanwhile, Egyptian Mohamed Salah, Gabon’s Aubameyang and Sadio Mane of Senegal are the contenders for the prestigious African Player of the Year.

On the other hand, the trio of Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria), Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa) and Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon) battle it out for the Women’s Player of the Year.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.