South Africa’s big guns avoid each other in Nedbank Cup draw

South Africa’s big guns avoid each other in Nedbank Cup draw
Bradley Grobler of Supersport United challenged by Happy Jele of Orlando Pirates during the 2017 Nedbank Cup Final match between Supersport United and Orlando Pirates at the Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban South Africa on 24 June 2017 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Tuesday Jan 16, 2018. 11:00

The draw for the last 32 round of the Nedbank Cup took place on Monday night in Johannesburg, with South Africa’s big guns avoiding each other for the most part.

Following preliminary rounds, the Nedbank Cup features the 16 teams from the top flight Absa Premiership, eight clubs from the second-tier National First Division and eight clubs from the third-tier ABC Motsepe League.

SuperSport United are the reigning champions, having won the Nedbank Cup last year by hammering Orlando Pirates in the final.

The last 32 round will begin from Tuesday, February 6.

Last 32 draw:

SAFA Western Cape v Orbit College
Mariveni United VS EC Bees
Swallows FC v Maritzburg United
Kaizer Chiefs v Golden Arrows
Cape Town All Stars v Mamelodi Sundowns
SAFA Mpumalanga (TBC) v Chippa United
Orlando Pirates v Ajax Cape Town
Bidvest Wits v Cape Town City
AmaZulu v Mthatha Bucks
Super Eagles v Free State Stars
Platinum Stars v Baroka FC
Richards Bay v Bloemfontein Young Tigers
Stellenbosch FC v Highlands Park
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United
Happy Wanderers v Royal Eagles
Ubuntu Cape Town v Polokwane City

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment