Rohr announces Nigeria squad for Poland & Serbia clashes

Rohr announces Nigeria squad for Poland & Serbia clashes
Arsenal's Alex Iwobi (right) and Kelechi Iheanacho

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Thursday Mar 08, 2018. 17:00

Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr has announced the Super Eagles squad for the upcoming FIFA international friendly games.

The 28-man squad is headlined by captain Mikel John Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Leon Balogun, Elderson Echiejile, Victor Moses,

Alex Iwobi

, William Troost-Ekong and Wilfred Ndidi.

The Super Eagles’ first friendly match will be against Poland in Wroclaw on Friday, March 23, 2018. Four days later, they will face Serbia in England.

The two matches are part of Nigeria’s preparations for the upcoming 2018 FIFA World Cup finals which will be hosted by Russia.

The Super Eagles are in Group D alongside Argentina, Iceland and Croatia.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); IKECHUKWU EZENWA (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); GABRIEL OKECHUKWU (Akwa United)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment