Emmanuel Adebayor to lead Togo against Cote d’Ivoire

Emmanuel Adebayor to lead Togo against Cote d’Ivoire
Emmanuel Adebayor

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Tuesday Mar 13, 2018. 12:00

Togo coach Claude Leroy has announced his squad to face Madagascar and Cote d’Ivoire this month whilst explaining the reasons for his choices.

Leroy revealed that Kodjovi Dadzie didn’t do enough to earn his place back in the Sparrow Hawks squad despite being declared fit and available for selection.

The ‘White Witch’ chose to leave the Akwa United of Nigeria defender out of his 25-man squad for the upcoming friendlies slated for this month.

Media reports indicate that Dadzie missed out on the last international squad against Algeria in a 2019 CAF African Cup of Nations qualifier through injury.

However, Leroy confirmed that the competition for spots means there is no room for him to return to the squad.

“It’s true that we have a problem with the left-back, but the player at Akwa United you’re talking about is 34 years old. We are not going to start again with that while sowing the seeds of Togo,” said Leroy.

“The decision to select a particular player is my sole responsibility. If there is anyone to attack, it’s me.

“I can’t dress it up any other way. Other players are in really good form and deserve to keep their place.”

Togo’s Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Dida Alhassani (Liberty, Ghana), Sabirou Bassa Djeri (Coton Sport, Cameroon), Yorgan Agblemagnon (CD Nacional, Portugal)

Defenders: Djene dakonam (Getafe, Spain), Bourahana Issifou (AS Togo Port), Hakim Ouro-Sama (AS Togo), Maklibe Kouloun (Dyto), Steve Lawson (Neuchatel, Switzerland), Simon Gbegnon (Beziers, France)

Midfielders: Lalawele Atakora (Adana Demirspor, Turkey), Franco Atchou (Enyimba, Nigeria), Floyd Ayité (Fulham, England), Ihlas Bebou (Hannover, Germany), Mathieu Dossevi (Metz, France), Guillaume Yenoussi (Dyto), Razak Boukari (Chateauroux, France), Komlan Agbegniadan (ASEC, Ivory Coast), Elom Nyavedji (Planet Soccer)

Forwards: Emmanuel Adebayor (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey), Fo Doh Laba (Berkane, Morocco), Euloge Placca (Beerschot, Belgium), Thibault Klidje (FC Hope)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.