Sundowns overcome stubborn Bees to advance

Sundowns overcome stubborn Bees to advance
Hlompho Kekana of Mamelodi Sundowns challenged by Thabo Mnyamane of Supersport United during the Absa Premiership 2017/18 match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Supersport United at Lucas Moripe Stadium, Pretoria on 2 February 2018 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Mar 13, 2018. 21:42

Mamelodi Sundowns defeated EC Bees 2-1 in the Nedbank Cup Last 16 match at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Tuesday night.

The victory sees Brazilians book their place in the quarter-finals, while Bees are eliminated from the competition.

Although, Sundowns were control of the game from the start it was the visitors, who broke the deadlock 16 minutes into the game.

Bongani Chikile was the man, who beat Sundowns' third-choice goalkeeper Kennedy Mweene to make it 1-0 to Bees.

The Brazilians then created several chances, but Pitso Mosimane's men were very wasteful in front of goal.

Thokazani Sekotlong, Anthony Laffor, Themba Zwane and George Lebese were all denied by Bees keeper Khanya Mini.

The visitors' defence continued to frustrate the Sundowns attackers in the closing stages of the first-half.

The score was 1-0 to Bees at half-time following a first half which was dominated by Sundowns.

The hosts deservedly equalized through Hlompho Kekana, who restored parity with a long-range effort to make it 1-1 for Sundowns just a minute into the second-half.

The Bees were under pressure for most of the time in the second-half and they could not seriously test Mweene in Sundowns.

It did not come as a surprise when the Brazilians took the lead through Thapelo Morena's effort to make it 2-1 to Sundowns with 15 minutes left.

Bees struggled to create chances in the closing stages of the game and it was Sundowns, who did most of the attacking.

Ultimately, Sundowns secured a 2-1 win over Bees on the night.

Sundowns (0) 2 (Kekana 45', Morena 75')

Bees (1) 1 (Chikile 16')

Sundowns: Mweene, Zulu, Madisha, Ngcongca (Morena 32'), Arendse, , Kekana, Lebese (Sirino 58'), Zwane, Laffor, Sekotlong, Brockie (Makgalwa 81')

Bees: Mini, Vandala (Maqokolo 41'), Gawe, Mhlakaza, Zondeka, Bisha, Mtule, B.Dlamini (Ntingiso 83'), Motshabasi, Tshange (Dlamini 50'), Chikile.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment