Real Madrid's Lucas Vazquez (L) and Juventus' Alex Sandro (R) in action during the UEFA Champions League quarter final, second leg soccer match between Real Madrid and Juventus at Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid, Spain, 11 April 2018. EPA/KIKO HUESCA
Thursday Apr 12, 2018. 14:00
Real Madrid winger Lucas Vasquez insists that Juventus’ Moroccan defender Medhi Benatia definitely fouled him for the penalty which decided the UEFA Champions League quarterfinal tie between the teams last night.
With the tie locked at 3-3 over the two legs and looking to be headed for extra time, Vazquez was bundled over on the box by Benatia as he looked to get onto a knock-down from Cristiano Ronaldo.
Referee Michael Oliver awarded a penalty, sparking such vociferous protests from Juventus that captain and goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon was shown a straight red card.
Cristiano Ronaldo converted the spot kick to see Real win 4-3 on aggregate and join Liverpool, Roma and Bayern Munich in the final four.
Speaking about the penalty post-match, second-half substitute Vazquez said: "Yes, it was [a penalty].
"When I went to hit the ball the centre-back arrived from behind and knocked me down. There's no discussion.
"It's normal [that Juventus players protested], it was the final minute."
While Vazquez insisted the correct decision was made, Benatia has a very different take on the incident.
"We are sad, because we played the game we wanted to and last year the same thing happened to Bayern Munich," Benatia told Mediaset Premium.
"Real Madrid are a great side, but every time there is a challenge, they get the decision and Cristiano Ronaldo scores.
"I went around Vazquez and got the ball. He just went down because he had nothing else to do at that point.
“You can see the ball bounce off my foot and change direction. Going out to a penalty like that is absurd.
"We are the victims of this situation, but we're very proud of what we did tonight."
As for Buffon's red card, Benatia added: "The referee needs to explain the rules, because if the captain can't even talk to the referee after a penalty is awarded, then who can?"