Polokwane safe, Chippa miss out on top eight

Polokwane safe, Chippa miss out on top eight
Linda Mntambo of Chippa United challenged by Wayne Arendse of Mamelodi Sundowns during the Absa Premiership 2017/18 match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Chippa United at Loftus Versveld Stadium, Johannesburg on 04 April 2018 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday May 12, 2018. 17:20

Polokwane City and Chippa United played out a 1-1 draw in their final Absa Premiership match of the season, played at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday.

The result means Rise and Shine avoid the relegation playoffs and will definitely play in the top flight next term, while the Chilli Boys missed out on a top-eight finish.

Polokwane started nervously and allowed Chippa to settle down and enjoy early dominance. However, the hosts soon found their rhythm and began to put together some promising attacking moves.

Yet, against the run of play, Chippa claimed the lead in the 38th minute, with attacker Linda Mntambo providing a fine finish to put the visitors ahead.

City responded strongly and equalised in the 42nd minute with a simple goal: a Wiseman Maluleke long throw-in found Bongile Booi, who turned the ball home from close range to make it 1-1 and ease his side’s growing nerves.

Just as in the first half, Polokwane appeared nervous early on and it was the Chilli Boys who looked the likelier scorers, with Mntambo threatening a second goal on a couple of occasions.

Yet the pressure Chippa were building evaporated just after the hour mark when they had midfielder Abel Mabaso sent off for a second bookable offence, reducing them to 10 men.

With their opponents now at a numerical disadvantage, Polokwane were able to see out a draw and ensure they will be a part of the top flight in 2018/19.

Polokwane City (1) 1 (Booi 42’)
Chippa United (1) 1 (Mntambo 38’)

Polokwane: Ndlovu, Ravhuhali, Tshilo, Semenya, Mbonani, Phiri, J. Maluleke, Booi, Manaka (Tlolane 63’), W. Malukeke (Sulumba 73’), Ramagalela

Chippa: Akpeyi, Macheke, Nsabiyumva, Modisane, Mako, Sali (Mdlinzo 64’), Mabaso, Rakhale (Mbokoma 68’), Machupu (Bergman 85’), Mayambela, Mntambo

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.