Absa Premiership wrap: Ajax condemned to playoffs, Sundowns end with a stalemate

Absa Premiership wrap: Ajax condemned to playoffs, Sundowns end with a stalemate
Joseph Molangoane of Kaizer Chiefs gets his pass away as he is challenged by Rodrick Kabwe of Ajax Cape Town during the Absa Premiership 2017/18 game between Ajax Cape Town and Kaizer Chiefs at Cape Town Stadium on 12 May 2018 © Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Sunday May 13, 2018. 09:00

The 2017/18 season Absa Premiership wrapped up with eight matches played across South Africa on Saturday afternoon, with the headline result a 2-1 loss at home for Ajax Cape Town which condemns them to the relegation playoffs.

The Urban Warriors will battle against Black Leopards and Jomo Cosmos in a three-team mini league, with the winners earning a place in the 2018/19 top flight.

Ajax needed to beat Chiefs at the Cape Town Stadium to have any chance of avoiding the playoffs, but goals from Bernard Parker and Joseph Molangoane saw the Soweto side show no mercy to their former coach Muhsin Ertugral.

Elsewhere, champions Mamelodi Sundowns received the trophy after a goalless draw away to Bloemfontein Celtic, runners-up Orlando Pirates defeated Free State Stars 2-1 at home, and the KwaZulu-Natal derby between Maritzburg United and Golden Arrows ended in a 1-1 stalemate and with both teams finishing in the top half.

Relegated Platinum Stars exited the PSL with their heads held high after beating Bidvest Wits 1-0, Chippa United just missed out on a place in the top eight after they could only draw 1-1 away to Polokwane City, SuperSport United ensured they stayed clear of trouble with a 1-0 win over Baroka FC and AmaZulu secured a place in next season’s MTN8 thanks to their 1-0 triumph over Cape Town City.

The PSL season will wrap up next weekend with the Nedbank Cup final between Maritzburg United and Free State Stars at Cape Town Stadium.

Absa Premiership Round 30 results

Saturday 12 May
Orlando Pirates 2-1 Free State Stars

Polokwane City 1-1 Chippa United

Bloemfontein Celtic 0-0 Mamelodi Sundowns

Platinum Stars 1-0 Bidvest Wits

Maritzburg United 1-1 Golden Arrows

Ajax Cape Town 1-2 Kaizer Chiefs

SuperSport United 1-0 Baroka FC

AmaZulu 1-0 Cape Town City

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.