WORLD CUP WATCH: Nigeria name 30-man provisional squad for Russia 2018

WORLD CUP WATCH: Nigeria name 30-man provisional squad for Russia 2018
Nigeria national team

by Graeme Jackson

Tuesday May 15, 2018. 09:40

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has named his 30-man provisional squad for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

There are few surprises in the selection, as only the inclusion of Junior Lokosa, who has scored 18 goals in the Nigeria Professional Football League, and Simeon Nwankwo of Crotone raised eyebrows. As expected, veteran goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama did not make the cut.

The list includes all the expected names, such as captain John Obi Mikel, Premier League stars Wilfred Ndidi, Victor Moses, Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi, as well as the likes of Leon Balogun, Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo and Joel Obi.

All invited players have been told to report at the Le Meridien Hotel and Golf Resort in Uyo, Nigeria, on Monday 21 May.

Nigeria provisional World Cup squad

Goalkeepers [4]: Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Dele Ajiboye, Daniel Akpeyi, Francis Uzoho

Defenders [10]: William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Chidozie Awaziem, Stephen Eze, Bryan Idowu, Olaoluwa Aina, Kenneth Omeruo, Elderson Echiiejile, Tyronne Ebuehi, Abdullahi Shehu

Midfielders [8]: John Obi Mikel, Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Wilfred Ndidi, Joel Obi, Mikel Agu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Uche Agbo

Forwards [8]: Odion Ighalo, Victor Moses, Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon, Simeon Nwankwo, Junior Lokosa

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.